Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast
Results 51 to 100 of 130
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

  1. #51
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    42

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 6A6B71786B7D60190 link=1322406344/49#49 date=1323037126
    This morning i tried the Aldi pod in the MAP machine, due to the almost non existent filtering compared to the MAP pods it was HOT and TASTELESS and after reading this review i would say even BURNT.* Im starting to think the PODS are to blame with almost no internal resistance they just dont impart the flavour (alas).*
    Arent pod machines supposed to develop a pressure of 19psi in the pod?
    Or is that never actually said, just something about a 19psi pump?
    Ive never actually seen an aldi pod machine other than the one the demonstrator was using, yet let alone bought one. They were sold out by 1pm on the day of launch, and they never replaced the stock.

    They need someone smarter at aldi. if they spend the huge amount of money on tv advertising that they did, with the very good price of the machine, then theyre going to sell a lot, so have stock to match.

  2. #52
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    12

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Its like theyve tried to duplicate the inkjet-printer business model (aka the loss-leader):
    - make cheap and unserviceable printer mechanism
    - sell printer at cost or below
    - sell ink refills at extortionate price and use patent/trademark law to prevent re-use of ink containers by 3rd parties.

    Replace words as required and you have this product.

  3. #53
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Yes, not suprisingly build quality does seem to vary. My GF tried here Expressi today and it made a lot of noise and seemed to struggle with the flow. Interestingly the temp of her brew was 60 degress. Of even more interest was that she called Aldi cust. service about it and was told the brew temp was correct i.e. 60 degrees? I then called Jura and was told my temp should be 85 degrees so its off to the service agent.

    If my Expressi is the correct brewing temperature then maybe its just the crap pods. Ill try a MAP pod instead.

  4. #54
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 6D584B445E751B131D1C2A0 link=1322406344/52#52 date=1323166776
    I then called Jura and was told my temp should be 85 degrees so its off to the service agent.
    I want using anything more than than a milk temp therometer but my Jura Ena 5 wasnt anywhere near 85deg! Maybe 60 ish but thats all & the settings were HOT too. Please post after getting yours looked at if you see any difference?!? Plz

  5. #55
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    6

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    I solved the temperature problem and it didnt cost me a cent. With some advice from some helpful guys on this forum I tested a 2nd cup straight after the first. This time the brew was 88 degrees! It seems some Juras need a shot put through first (which you throw) and use the second cup for drinking. Try that.

  6. #56
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    The first cup tasted ok but the second was hotter, i wont waste the first shot but make sure i get to drink the second and will give the first one to someone else then - easy done

  7. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    42

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 223E33343F31353E23353D25223324560 link=1322406344/51#51 date=1323153874
    Its like theyve tried to duplicate the inkjet-printer business model (aka the loss-leader):
    - make cheap and unserviceable printer mechanism
    - sell printer at cost or below
    - sell ink refills at extortionate price and use patent/trademark law to prevent re-use of ink containers by 3rd parties.

    Replace words as required and you have this product.
    Not really. There are no cheaper coffee pods than Aldis. Nothing even in the same league [price wise]. Your analogy is flawed as I know what youre saying, youre saying maybe this pod machine is equivalent to a lexmark printer that sell ridiculously cheap, but l the cartridges are insanely ridiculously expensively. A set of cartridges for this printer is as much as the printer.

    Aldi dont do that. Its a cheap machine, with the cheapest pods of any pod manufacturer. Aldis motive is more obvious, its to get people into their store on a regular basis to buy groceries and weekly specials at aldi that they wouldnt have bought if they werent going to aldi for their coffee pods.

    Nothing as machiavellian as youve suggested.

  8. #58
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Im curious what aldi expressi coffee pod flavours people have tried and which they liked and which they hated?

  9. #59
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    42

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Latte Macchiato on the aldi machine.
    Very Impressive!


  10. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Posts
    395

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 4257514C534A4D46230 link=1322406344/58#58 date=1323647557
    Latte Macchiato on the aldi machine.
    Very Impressive!

    http://youtu.be/Zmx8B100T5w
    Rather impressive, Id imagining that putting the milk through the coffee path might make things taste, odd for the next espresso.

    So, How did it taste?

  11. #61
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    9

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Watched the video(s) on the aldi exoressi on youtube and its nice to see people posting stuff (even learnt how to use the milk frother correctly so thanks for that) BUT almost all the POURS looked rotten (very light creama) which has been my experience too but i think its the PODS not the machine (although tweaking seems to make a diff to that too reading experiences here).

    My question is what is the capsule cream pod pors i saw? I see they do that first and then coffee on top before adding milk. But i couldnt work out what the white pod stuff was???

  12. #62
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    These are powdered milk capsules right?

    Sheeze... now these pod machines are going to produce 3 times the amount of landfill.* I might have to move my kids to the tip so they can get a taste of Australia in the future.* *
    ::)

    Quote Originally Posted by 44697D6F6061666F497C4E697C6D080 link=1322406344/59#59 date=1323670778
    putting the milk through the coffee path
    Hands-up who wants to try filling the water tank with milk?
    ;D

    Quote Originally Posted by 697C7A677861666D080 link=1322406344/56#56 date=1323397177
    Aldi dont do that. Its a cheap machine, with the cheapest pods of any pod manufacturer.
    These "cheapest pods" are still $52/kg for stale pre-ground coffee.* Nothing cheap about that.

    Quote Originally Posted by 4F7A69667C5739313F3E080 link=1322406344/54#54 date=1323347357
    With some advice from some helpful guys on this forum I tested a 2nd cup straight after the first.
    My temperature tests were after 3 flushes of hot water... it was the maximum I could get.

    Build variations might be part of the problem.* Any of you guys from Aldi want to send me another machine for side by side tests?

  13. #63
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    42

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)



    (edit - removed the ad for Aldi) - Andy

  14. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2010
    Posts
    161

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 6C4349542D0 link=1322406344/13#13 date=1322413391






    In fact just looking at this picture 5 hours later Im still pulling similar faces as my senses recall the cruel torture (seriously!)
    Thats funny. I wish I found this review earlier. Good review.

  15. #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    349

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Itll please the crowd who drink coffee because they think its fancy, "cafe-style" and not because they like the taste of the coffee - because theyve rarely, if ever, had good coffee, and all they can taste is the milk and sugar. Your shot looks the same as I get from my machine when I use pods - black coffee, white "crema" on top.

  16. #66
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    I purchased the expressi machine in Black today, had to get the frother from another store as my store didnt have any.

    I made my first cup of Milano, really nice
    The milk frother froths up way too much, wish it wouldnt do so.
    As for the coffee itself, might need to adjust the small cup setting as the amount of coffee I got was really smal.
    Probably should try using the large cup the next time.
    But all in all very happy so far

  17. #67
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Thanks for the great detailed review Andy! I was actually contemplating getting one of these if anyone made refillable pods so that I could use my own coffee in them.

    However if the results are below par in terms of low temp and fast flow rate then I guess that probably wont work too well anyway...

    Its surprising that you say the grind is quite coarse in the capsules. I would have thought if the pour time is quite short theyd want to grind the coffee as fine as possible. Or perhaps the machine isnt powerful enough to push the water through finely ground coffee.

    I havent had the chance to go to an Aldi to try one of these, but I will if I can find somewhere that they still do demos.

    Ive tried a few flavours of Nespresso and havent been impressed. As you mentioned with the pod systems, the coffee just isnt fresh and that comes through in the coffee.

    I find that I get more aroma out of a cheap bag of beans from the supermarket that I grind myself than any capsule Ive tried!

  18. #68
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 243E252235232820767777470 link=1322406344/66#66 date=1333259526
    However if the results are below par in terms of low temp and fast flow rate then I guess that probably wont work too well anyway...
    I dont think that is entirely correct, at-least Ive not had the issues youve mentioned.
    Have had the machine for a couple of days now, and loving it so far :D

  19. #69
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 637D6669647A6961636D7A080 link=1322406344/67#67 date=1333261692
    Ive not had the issues youve mentioned
    So what temperature and flow rate are you getting from yours?

    Quote Originally Posted by 637D6669647A6961636D7A080 link=1322406344/67#67 date=1333261692
    couple of days now, and loving it so far
    Thats good to hear. Buggered if I could get anything I wanted to drink out of the one I tested but if you are getting something you like thats all that matters.

    Quote Originally Posted by 6B716A6D7A6C676F393838080 link=1322406344/66#66 date=1333259526
    I havent had the chance to go to an Aldi to try one of these
    At $100 for the machine and a couple of boxes of capsules its pretty low risk. ...but you were warned
    ;D

    Quote Originally Posted by 6B716A6D7A6C676F393838080 link=1322406344/66#66 date=1333259526
    I find that I get more aroma out of a cheap bag of beans from the supermarket that I grind myself than any capsule Ive tried!
    Of course! You will get even better from fresh roasted beans from good roaster or from beans that you roasted yourself at home.
    8-)

  20. #70
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    3

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    So what temperature and flow rate are you getting from yours?
    Will check the temp next time I make one, but should mention I had to wait about 2 mins before sipping, it was a little hotter than your usual cafe serve

    Thats good to hear.* Buggered if I could get anything I wanted to drink out of the one I tested but if you are getting something you like thats all that matters.
    I feel the key here is to keep things very simple and follow basic rules.
    Lot of people complaint about the low strength pods being watery and waste, but (as I mentioned) simple basic instructions are followed you can end up with a decent beverage !

    (edit by andy to fix the quote tags)

  21. #71
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 352B303F322C3F37353B2C5E0 link=1322406344/69#69 date=1333275083
    but (as I mentioned) simple basic instructions are followed you can end up with a decent beverage
    Ill have another read of the instructions and see if the machine will produce great espresso.

    ...but I do expect it will still produce stale, bitter, expensive and nasty coffee.

  22. #72
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 745B514C350 link=1322406344/68#68 date=1333264821
    Of course!* You will get even better from fresh roasted beans from good roaster or from beans that you roasted yourself at home.
    I would like to try roasting my own beans one day, except I know nothing about roasting (yet)! Im sure theres a lot of information on the forums which Ill read before buying some green beans to try!

  23. #73
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Well I bought one of these yesterday. Bit of an impulse as I was in Aldi anyway, but for small change I thought Id get quick and convenient and cheap coffee on my desk at work.

    Bottom line, I must not be much of a coffee snob after all. I got the Renzo (8) pods and to me the lattes Ive made with the Expressi and the frother taste almost as good as any $4.00+ coffee I can buy locally (and Seven Seeds is literally 200m away from my desk).

    At $0.374 per coffee (not counting the cost of the machines or milk - work provide milk) I LOVE it for convenience at work and the massive savings to be had by not buying coffee every day. These things are designed for convenience first and foremost. Something quick and easy and a million times better than instant coffee.

    So Ive come to the conclusion that theres coffee snobs (me) and then above them sit the Jedi Master coffee snobs (like Andy).

    Oh, and I fail to see how $0.374 per coffee is expensive when Ive been buying one, often two, $4.60 coffees a day for months.

  24. #74
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 17323D3A203B0C053A383A3D34530 link=1322406344/72#72 date=1336710569
    as good as any $4.00+ coffee I can buy locally (and Seven Seeds is literally 200m away from my desk)
    I look forward to hearing what Mark says when you say that his coffee is the same as old, stale preground coffee that arrived on a slow boat from Germany.

    ::)

    Please take a video camera with you so we can all see.
    ;D


    Quote Originally Posted by 6E4B44435942757C434143444D2A0 link=1322406344/72#72 date=1336710569
    Oh, and I fail to see how $0.374 per coffee is expensive
    Hmmm...
    The price of the coffee (whats in the capsule) is expensive in comparision to every fresh roasted coffee supplier in the country.

    You can buy amazing coffees for far less per kilo and much lower imact on the planet as a bonus.



  25. #75
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Its not stale. Pre-ground, yes. But its sealed inside an air tight packet so its certainly not stale. In fact is has a used by date of September 2013.

    FWIW, I buy all my beans for making coffee at home in my 6910 from Seven Seeds and grind them seconds before I do the extraction.

    I should be more specific regarding the taste. "NEARLY" as good as........ But for $0.374 per coffee, its much better value for money. Like I said, Im clearly not enough of a snob.

    As for lower impact on the environment? I had a laugh!!! What the?

  26. #76
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 07222D2A302B1C152A282A2D24430 link=1322406344/74#74 date=1336713166
    has a used by date of September 2013
    Meaning its 7-8 months since it was ground.

    Thats pretty stale when you are talking to a roaster that wont sell coffee thats more than a week old!

    ;D

  27. #77
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    yeah well, Im a very young padewan when it comes to coffee obviously. I had a laugh

  28. #78
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Sydney North Shore
    Posts
    1,320

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    For a majority of our population convenience is far more important than the flavour of their coffee. That is why something like 70% of all coffee is sold as instant and most coffee machines sold by the discount and department stores are either pod machines or super automatics.

    Barry

  29. #79
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,083

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 694C43445E45727B444644434A2D0 link=1322406344/74#74 date=1336713166
    As for lower impact on the environment? I had a laugh!!! What the?
    Referring to the amount of waste these capsule machines produce. All the individual packaging, plastic, foil etc.
    Recyclable?

    When I make a coffee, my waste product is one puck of spent coffee which can go straight onto the garden. Worst case, it goes to landfill as 100% organic waste.

  30. #80
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Why would I give a toss about waste? It goes in the bin... End of story.

  31. #81
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 486D62657F64535A656765626B0C0 link=1322406344/79#79 date=1336723780
    Why would I give a toss about waste? It goes in the bin... End of story.
    Ahh... I get where youre coming from. All it required was a quick read of your other idiotic posts ::)

    Anyone notice anything in the vicinity of the bridge?

  32. #82
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,083

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 6F4A45425843747D424042454C2B0 link=1322406344/79#79 date=1336723780
    Why would I give a toss about waste? It goes in the bin... End of story.
    Ahh........ a troll!

    There you go.

  33. #83
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,083

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    SNAP Chris!

  34. #84
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 74515E5943586F66595B595E57300 link=1322406344/79#79 date=1336723780
    Why would I give a toss about waste? It goes in the bin... End of story.
    Im sad for you.

    If that was a joke it wasnt funny, if it wasnt a joke then its just a pathetic attitude in this century.

    I think I speak for everyone when I say it might be better if you go somewhere else to troll for a reaction.


  35. #85
    Senior Member Dennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4,512

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 795C53544E55626B545654535A3D0 link=1322406344/79#79 date=1336723780
    Why would I give a toss about waste? It goes in the bin... End of story.
    Dont throw them out until you use them at least one more time. By your own calculations, this will cut your costs to $0.187 per coffee.

  36. #86
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 3E3F252C3F29344D0 link=1322406344/49#49 date=1323037126
    This morning i tried the Aldi pod in the MAP machine, due to the almost non existent filtering compared to the MAP pods it was HOT and TASTELESS and after reading this review i would say even BURNT.* Im starting to think the PODS are to blame with almost no internal resistance they just dont impart the flavour (alas).
    I also tried an Aldi pod in a MAP machine, and it was like using ground coffee the same way you use instant. There seemed to be no filter process at all and I couldn’t stomach any more than a mouthful. Have I done something wrong or is there a way around this? I keep reading Reviews where people mention Aldi Pods in MAP Machines and while they mention the fact it tastes like dirt they dont mention it has the same consistency.

  37. #87
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 6772717D78797264170 link=1322406344/85#85 date=1337132236
    Have I done something wrong or is there a way around this?
    No- nothing wrong as such. The results in the cup are to be expected ;)

    The way around it is to ditch pods, buy fresh roasted and grind to order- for a non-pod method of production which suits your requirements.


  38. #88
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    My Italian espresso machine (~$800 ten years ago) died so I grabbed an Aldi. Now I Cant agree with a lot of the Aldi bashing going on here.

    Will you get a better coffee out of a $1600 machine? Possibly. Twenty times better? No way! But hang on, why are you trying to make that comparison in the first place?

    If youre trying to match a particular coffee experience this isnt the machine for you. Dont waste your time complaining that you cant get the coffee you want out of the Aldi, go buy a quality dual boiler espresso and tell us how good it is.

    Now, are the pods expensive? Its been costing $12.50 a quarter kilo for Campos beans so actually no, pods are not expensive.

    How good/bad is the coffee? Take a random walk down the nearest shopping street and get a cup from the first place with an espresso and my experience is the shop cup will most likely be worse than you can get with the Aldi. Theres a lot of bad coffee out there, but yes you can do a lot better. Its certainly better than any instant. Better and hotter than youre likely to achieve with a plunger. Its not a brilliant cup, but quite satisfactory.

    Tips:
    1) Like any coffee machine you gotta learn how to drive it. Especially learn to program the shot size. Dont press the 100ml lungo button, in fact dont put any more than 40ml through a capsule.
    2) Pre-heat you cup.
    Hildy likes this.

  39. #89
    Senior Member trentski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2009
    Location
    Altona, Melbourne
    Posts
    1,570

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    ;D best first post ever

  40. #90
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5751464D5750484A230 link=1322406344/88#88 date=1337256747
    ;D best first post ever
    Its times like these when you think forums need a "Like" button...

  41. #91
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    15,479
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Welcome to CoffeeSnobs KrisP

    Being as fair as I could I tried really hard to get a good coffee from this machine both by following the directions and by modifying the machine to try and get around its problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by 594240575F320 link=1322406344/87#87 date=1337255877
    dont put any more than 40ml through a capsule.
    Quote Originally Posted by 594240575F320 link=1322406344/87#87 date=1337255877
    Pre-heat you cup.
    Which is exactly what I did...

    [img]
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/attachments/expressi10.jpg[/img]

    Quote Originally Posted by 594240575F320 link=1322406344/87#87 date=1337255877
    hotter than youre likely to achieve with a plunger
    ::)
    My kettle boils water, I get a choice.

    Feel free to come to the Snobbery for some blind taste testing. Aldi pods vs fresh coffee in a plunger or even against an $80 espresso machine and fresh coffee.

    However you compare I think the coffee coming from this pod machine is bad and 100% of the people that tried it at the Snobbery agreed.

  42. #92
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,260

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    I suspect there is a real probability of some significant machine to machine differences at play here.
    but using a random "shop bought cup" as a standard to compare against, is not a high target to beat !

    Note : I believe everyone should own a pod machine....
    .....for use as a reference point when you doubt your abilities as an Espresso maker ! ;D

  43. #93
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Posts
    2

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 4D6268750C0 link=1322406344/90#90 date=1337262145
    Welcome to CoffeeSnobs KrisP

    Being as fair as I could I tried really hard to get a good coffee from this machine both by following the directions and by modifying the machine to try and get around its problems.
    I can see from your posts that youve gone to a lot of trouble to try to get a good coffee out of your Aldi. Now if I want a really good coffee what I do is walk up the road round the corner to a guy with a La Marzocco and for $3 he makes me happy.

    On a cold wintry morning I set my sights lower.

    For better temperature, (I dont have a thermometer) I turn on the machine, run the cleaning cycle, then run a lungo cycle without a pod.* This warms the cup and the machine. It still could be a bit hotter but is borderline acceptable, and the crema seems to come out a bit darker.

    For a nice dark crema and even hotter shot I can use a Map pod(8g) instead of an Aldi one(7g). This gives a slightly smaller shot, and a nice dark crema. But they are more expensive (60c vs 38c) and it feels downright weird buying coffee at Officeworks.

  44. #94
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2011
    Posts
    10

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    A very informative review..thanks Andy for going into so much detail and for the pics.

    FWIW my in-laws bought one of these recently and I definitely prefer the Expressi to plunger and instant coffee.* The crema is much richer in colour and I was really surprised to see how white Andys turned out. Quality control at the factory seems to be rather lacking from what Im reading!

    The Expressi is not in the same league as my second-hand Saeco royal cappuccino, but I cant expect it to be for $79 with old coffee and I think its not worth the disappointment if youre expecting anything approaching your favourite cafes quality. If someone wants to enjoy coffee a notch above instant Id definitely recommend it.

    On a different note, Im amazed that company shills are trolling in coffee forums.
    Perhaps instead of wasting their time here they could hop on the understaffed registers and really make us all happy* [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

  45. #95
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Posts
    1

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Great review! I bought one of these machines for my office in November as an alternative to instant.

    Agree that the coffee wasnt up to the standard of my Gaggia with fresh ground DiBella beans but for a quick coffee in the office without the mess it wasnt too bad, especially once I worked out how to get the most out of it. Using the machine to warm the cup made a big difference.

    My greatest concern was the strong smell of plastic from the water reservoir which permitted the water if not changed daily.

    So, all well until it ceased to heat last week. "No Problem" says my local ALDI just call the warranty company Tempo Australia. Several phone calls and being left on hold each time, the last time for nearly an hour, constantly reminded I was progressing in the queue and still no human contact. The recording said I could leave a message but then the message service told me it was full....GRRRRR!

    I was told by a friend who bought an ALDI washing machine which died after a few months that this service level was standard fare for ALDI and that I shouldnt waste my time.

    In summary, this machine should have a place where speed and convenience are important. with a bit of practice you can get an acceptable coffee. But if things go wrong (and it seems they will) just bin it.

  46. #96
    Junior Member VeloEspresso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Thank you Andy - great review! Have been considering one of these convenience machines for a while, and this thread has sold it for me.

    I have a nice Saeco automatic machine in the kitchen, but Im an avid cyclist (both road and mountain) and by the time Ive finished my morning ride in the bush and get back to the car, Im dying for a shot. Ive just ordered one of these machines to run off a camping inverter out of the boot of my car! Im sure its not going to match the fresh beans ground at the time of shooting - but, its better than nothing!

    Have been doing a little research and came across a post of a guy who packs his own ground coffee in MAP pods (they have plastic pressure filters in them) and uses a small disc of alfoil in the base, and an alfoil top to close the pod up - and it seemed to pour "OK".

    Ive ordered some Map pods, if only out of curiosity.

    I may do some mods to my machine to match the temp/pour as per your experiment (at my own peril of course). So, thank you for an awesome review.

    I may do a little review myself if/when I perfect packing my own recycled pods! Cheers! :D

  47. #97
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    1,260

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5D6E67644E787B796E7878640B0 link=1322406344/95#95 date=1340771034
    Thank you Andy - great review! Have been considering one of these convenience machines for a while, and this thread has sold it for me.
    :o :o Wow ! interesting interpretation of Andys review ?
    PS... I have an option on a nice waterfront building plot in Kakadu if you would like to buy that too !! ::)

  48. #98
    Junior Member VeloEspresso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5E50595258090E3C0 link=1322406344/96#96 date=1340773894
    Quote Originally Posted by 5D6E67644E787B796E7878640B0 link=1322406344/95#95 date=1340771034
    Thank you Andy - great review! Have been considering one of these convenience machines for a while, and this thread has sold it for me.
    :o :o Wow ! interesting interpretation of Andys review ?
    PS... I have an option on a nice waterfront building plot in Kakadu if you would like to buy that too !!* ::)
    Ha! It sold me that for $80 and a few mods - Ill have a coffee machine which will be a little more convenient for me. Nice to know its shortfalls before buying one.

  49. #99
    Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    41

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    Quote Originally Posted by 46757C7F556360627563637F100 link=1322406344/97#97 date=1340853736
    Quote Originally Posted by 5E50595258090E3C0 link=1322406344/96#96 date=1340773894
    Quote Originally Posted by 5D6E67644E787B796E7878640B0 link=1322406344/95#95 date=1340771034
    Thank you Andy - great review! Have been considering one of these convenience machines for a while, and this thread has sold it for me.
    :o :o Wow ! interesting interpretation of Andys review ?
    PS... I have an option on a nice waterfront building plot in Kakadu if you would like to buy that too !!* ::)
    Ha! It sold me that for $80 and a few mods - Ill have a coffee machine which will be a little more convenient for me. Nice to know its shortfalls before buying one.

    Did you read the conclusions?

    "Conclusion:

    What started out with some promise quickly turned into the worst tasting coffee ever when I actually used the machine.

    Pros:
    * $79 is not much money for a coffee machine!
    * Looks neat
    * Good sized footprint for a domestic kitchen
    * 2 year warranty
    * Good manual
    * Easy to use

    Cons:
    * The coffee tasted disgusting
    * 7-8 times more landfill than fresh coffee.
    * $50/kg is too expensive.
    * Coffee is too old (7 months old already).
    * Roasted, ground and packed in Germany means it will always be old
    * No option to adjust temperature or rate of pour."

    To me it reads like the worst tasting coffee in the history of espresso machines, and its not cheap to run.

  50. #100
    Junior Member VeloEspresso's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    4

    Re: Aldi Expressi Coffee Machine Review - (Lots of pictures)

    And I got mine last week. Getting 92 degrees from a shot, and agreed that the Expressi shots are just awful. Little weak crema, and a distinct burnt taste. Not impressed. Map pods however are actually really quite nice! And, Ive experimented over the weekend with repacking the spent pods with my own beans, and it worked perfectly. Recycling at its best! :D

Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 1 2 3 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Aldi Expressi
    By Jbounce in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 18th August 2012, 05:46 PM
  2. Aldi Expressi Capsule Machine + Frother Review
    By sampam in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 5th December 2011, 01:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •