Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By LeroyC
  • 2 Post By noidle22

Thread: Em 6200

Rbn

Em 6200

Has anyone had any experience of this machine, or the EM5900.
    I am wondering if they are a suitable upgrade from my EM 4800c, which I have in my campervan.

I note the EM 6200 has been discontinued and replace with the EM 5600.
    I had 2 of these and the screen/computer failed, hence getting the EM 4800c.

I note both the 5900 and 6200 have "metal" collars as against the "plastic style of the 4800 and 5600.
    I image the "metal" ones are longer lasting.

I recall Luke (noidle22) saying at some stage that the 5900 was the worst machine that Sunbeam had ever made. Can't remember the reasons why sorry. I think you'll find that the guys that know these machines will only ever recommend a 6910 or 7000. Personally I've had some experience with the 4820 and wouldn't hesitate to buy one at a decent price for a spare or work. It's easy to use and with some basic mods can produce a decent coffee. It has the best steam tip of all the Sunbeams and therefor is great for milk. Luke has said they have one weak point (the plastic junction inside from memory) so they can be a bit hit and miss. I gave a 2nd hand one that I'd fixed up to my brother 18 months ago and it's still going strong.
    rawill likes this.

Rbn
    Greetings fellow NZ CSer. We are often enough up your way. Just come back from being there for 3 weeks or so.

I had been looking at a 4820 as it looked more substantial than what I have as well.

Many thanks

The EM5900 isn't a bad machine, its the EM5800 i dont like. Seen too many of the boards fail in them. Plus they don't look very good.

The EM5900 and 6200 are both reasonably reliable.
    They use the same thermocoil as the EM6910 machine and a similar heating controller.

The collars are a metal surround but have plastic inserts which can wear out but fortunately they are available as a spare part from Sunbeam.
    The inserts usually last many years anyway.