coffeesnobs BeanBay
Roasted Coffee | Green Coffee | Tea Tisanes | Cocoa Chai | Snob Wear | Behmor Roaster | & Other Stuff

Thread: ECM Laura A2 - help please!

ECM Laura A2 - help please!

Cafelat Coffee Tamper and Accessories
    This is my first post in this section - I posted my first in the grinder section 3 days ago, regarding my newly acquired Fiorenzato T80, (my first ever grinder), and found the replies very helpful. My other purchase and my first ever coffee machine is a group 2 ECM Laura. Cant find much about them except for a parts diagram. My question is: given that Im new to the home brewed coffee scene and dont want to foul up my machine on the 1st attempt what should I be doing to clean it effectively and what materials are suggested for descaling and cleaning please? Where do I start? The previous owner told me it had been refurbed 8 months ago - but I dont know the extent of it and neither did he. Although the case looks clean I suspect the inside is a different story! I can see on the frother that it hasnt been cleaned and there are coffee grinds on the gubbins that the portable coffee thingy fits tightly onto. Sorry I dont have all the terminology yet - Im working on it! From your experiences what are my first steps with this machine to ensure when its plumbed in and the electrics are fitted up I get a good chance of a decent first shot? I read quite a few threads on grinders and machines before buying the ECM and the general consensus was get a good grinder first - hence the T80! Im currently working on fitting new blades and new plexiglass for the doser and want to make sure the ECM is up to scratch before putting my first home ground in - but - I dont want to totally strip down yet! All replies gratefully received - especially if you have a copy of a user manual? Please help me - thanks!!

Re: ECM Laura A2 - help please!

Hi Moredimensions,