Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree101Likes

Thread: New ECM Technika IV profi experience

New ECM Technika IV profi experience

Well, I thought it was about time that I contributed back to the pool of knowledge here on CS with my coffee machine experience.

So, thanks very much to the guys at Jetblack Espresso, especially Charlie, about a month ago we acquired a new ECM T IV Profi, with a pretty good deal IMO. We got version with Rotary pump and the switchable tank/mains option.

The reason I went for this machine over the other machines that Jetblack had was because of it's switchable plumbing option. More on that later.

This is my first ever espresso machine (aside from 3 weeks of borrowing my neighbours Silvia back in July), and I'm quite new to making espresso, so I can't really compare it to anything else for you. As a new user, I've enjoyed learning how to use it a lot, and it hasn't had any surprising quirks for me to deal with. I've got up my skills very quickly - helpful to have some of your closest friends as coffee professionals!

Here it is next to my grinder*
    IMG_1776.jpg

As far as it's aesthetics are concerned, it's fine. Looks like an E61 machine, it's all subjective really, but the solid aluminium sides bottom to top really do help it to look good in any kitchen. I personally liked the look of it out of most of the available e61 machines out there, but that's just me. Also the portafilter handles are probably the best looking handles on the market in this price range.

Cleaning it (externally) was a concern my wife had, but aside from cleaning behind the group itself, it's really quite easy to clean. Just use lots of water, no need for chemicals, and dry it off thoroughly, and you won't see any water stains. Obviously, it's easier to clean when cold. Cleaning it internally (backflushing) is also just as simple as any other machine.