Page 1 of 5 1 2 3 ... LastLast
Like Tree309Likes

Thread: Rocket R58 or Profitec 700 or New ECM Dual 75 PID; So Many Questions???

Rocket R58 or Profitec 700 or New ECM Dual 75 PID; So Many Questions???

Hello All,

Long time listener, first time caller.... Love the show! (My attempt at comedy)

Well, after many years of sufferance with a pod machine and approval from the chief of war and finance, I'm in the midst is searching for my first prosumer espresso machine.

To give a little bit of a back ground..... I'm an engineer, so I love the inner workings of these machines and also the finesse of trying to achieve that ultimate shot. I don't spend a hell of a lot of time during the week at home, so this machine will do most of its work on Saturday and Sunday mornings and entertaining (coffee loving family and self-confessed snobs).

Until last week I had my search narrowed down to 2 machines (thanks to all the great info on this forum, thanks guys); the Rocket R58 and the Profitec 700.... I was also looking at the ECM Controvento due to the fact that I love the workmanship of the ECM, but the price tag (around 5.5K) and the large footprint were putting me off.

And then..... I was reading some info online about the 2015 HOST in Milan a few weeks ago and read that ECM were releasing a new dual boiler with PID in a similar body shape to the EMC Profi. Can someone tell me is this the same machine as the Profitec 700 just with a different label?

Specs on the ECM Dual 75 PID are;

ECM E61 brew group
    Dual Boiler
    Stainless steel .75lt boiler for espresso boiler
    Stainless steel 2lt for steam and hot water boiler
    Off/on switch for steam boiler
    PIP temp control for both boilers and shot timer
    Rotary pump
    3lt water tank (can also be plumbed)
    No burn steam and hot water wands
    10amp electrical heating with 1x1400W and 1x1200W

With some further research, it looks like the EMC will be priced around the 3.5 to 4k AUS.