Like Tree8Likes
  • 2 Post By chrisvarghese
  • 5 Post By chrisvarghese
  • 1 Post By chrisvarghese

Thread: DIY La Marzocco GS3 Side Mounted Steam Lever

DIY La Marzocco GS3 Side Mounted Steam Lever

So impressed by the works for Specht Design here in Melbourne, I too wanted a side mounted steam lever on my GS3. Now I could have asked Specht Design to do it for me or sell me their DIY kit, instead being an engineer, I thought of taking up the challenge of doing it myself and doing it for cheap.
    So here's a little DIY if anyone's interested.
    What you'll need-
    Basic tools (screw drivers, allen keys, pliers, spanners etc)
    Metal plate (about 25cm by 40cm)
    Pipe bender (optional, can bend pipe with hands)
    Steam Actuator Handle/Lever (I got mine for free and it's a Synesso one. Important thing is that it has a ramp in it)
    New side panels
    Steps-
    1) Remove all body panels including cup tray, drip tray etc

2) Loosen the bolt on the steam valve just behind the current actuator

3) Loosen and remove the copper tube going from Steam Boiler to steam valve

4) Loosen and remove the copper tube going from steam valve to steam wand

5) Now you'll have to bend these 2 pipes. The longer tube needs to be bent into a S shape (you'll understand from the pics below). The smaller one is kind of a like U.
    You can either bend the original pipes or get a whole new set of copper tubes and bend it accurately with the pipe bending tool and flare the ends using a flaring tool. I did not have a flaring and hence I decided to bend the original pipes and also helped keep costs low.

6) I was able to bend the longer tube by leaving the steam boiler end connected and using hands to bend it as required. For the smaller one, I placed it for a cylinder and hammer it slightly. Bending the tubes was the hard part of the project.