Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast
Results 101 to 150 of 213
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Living with Presso: ongoing review

  1. #101
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    425

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by AngerManagement link=1169640939/90#98 date=1185622103


    I trust the supplier is a small but going concern in Kent Rd Wooloowin ?? If not drop me a PM and I will make sure I go to the right guy ;)
    Dan is not a sponsor but we will get him dont worry!

    Quote Originally Posted by AngerManagement link=1169640939/90#98 date=1185622103

    But I like the US ? clip, fill to the top with water and do only ONE compress and even then, do not take the handles above the horizontal.
    Henry is actually in china, he loves his classical American composers however


  2. #102
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,382

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by Presso link=1169640939/90#97 date=1185607332
    Ive put a new shower and "spiltter" in the post to your supplier(in Brisbane), just pop in and tell them your CS username and theyll hand over the brown paper bag!

    Cheers,

    Cameron
    Thanks, got home a little early (Optus line fault causing all sorts of problems) and dropped in to see Dan.

    He had a shower screen and a splitter, waiting for me. Many thanks.

    As to the splitter, I notices that in some of the Presso pics, that there are group handles around with a true double spout. Even the mov on this site http://www.pressoaustralia.com/ suggests that such a part is available, or is it a mod ?

    Once again, thanks for the offer and the timely delivery.



  3. #103
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    425

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Glad Dan the man could help!

    Did you enthuse him about CS sponsorship?

    The double portafilter are as rare as the proverbial.

    You can get one on the pressoaustralia website. Just search "spares" when you get to the checkout.

    I think youll find the plastic nozzle does just fine.

    Regards,

    Cameron

  4. #104
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,382

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by Presso link=1169640939/90#102 date=1186049841
    Glad Dan the man could help!

    Did you enthuse him about CS sponsorship?


    Cameron
    Spoke about it and he indicated that he lurks, but as to sponsorship, he was non committal

  5. #105
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Hi folks,
    I havent made any green bean purchases, when I got to a years supply to work through I realised I need to stop!
    I have moved to benchtop convection oven with rotisserie, brilliant thing is better sized for me/fiancè than the non-fan-forced kitchen oven. Today I was surprised with moist ginger loaf and melting-moment cookie to accompany the coffee. Ecstatic.

    Im posting because I have been testing a new camera in preparation for summer Europe honeymoon, and there has been a visual ode-to-Presso in a sense.


    http://www.flickr.com/photos/deepfra...7603925566993/


    Presso is a way of life for us. Nearing a year on in the coffeesnobs experience, we are very happy. I am particularly glad I have a replicated setup at work. Thanks again to Cameron for the intro offer to a brilliant design.

  6. #106
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    425

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Love the skyline shot!

    Hope you plan to take the PRESSO with you.

    Regards,
    Cameron

  7. #107
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    164

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    hey all,
    just thought id send a shout out to thank Cameron for his great service and genorousity.
    My presso frother was unlucky to lose one of its little discs the other day :( which made frothing a tad tricky..! upon requesting if i could replace the broken part... it was only 3 working days and a whole new replacemtn frother (with ugraded plastic discs) was on my office desk...! the distinct aroma of fresh roasted coffee.. also told me that i was lucky enough to receive some of Camerons beans again too..!!
    All this FREE of charge, even when i offered to pay.

    Thanks Cameron

    Cheers
    Brendan

  8. #108
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    130

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Yep, Ill second all that! Great service...

  9. #109
    Member artscendence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    70

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Ive received my replacement parts after 6months of trouble free Pressoing - a terrific service and outstanding product.

  10. #110
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Just wondering if any Presso owners had tried to take them onto domestic flights as cabin luggage? After travelling with one of the "more basic" ones the other day, they provide the water with a separate coffee bag. I know I cant take a plunger on the plane as I may unscrew the metal rod and use it to cut a hole through the steel reinforced door to take control of said plane. With no sharp edges I wondered if it might be an option to have some drinkable coffee on those flights?

  11. #111
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    434

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I think it would be a risky proposition trying to get one into the cabin.
    I wouldnt try it -- the idea of being told to check it on at the last moment
    and then having it lost or damaged is too horrible to contemplate :(

    Have just been travelling with one for three weeks though -- in my
    check on luggage. With a good hand grinder, its a superb travelling
    coffee maker!

  12. #112
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,494

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I think theyd view it as some kind of torture instrument from the look of it.

    Besides which it would pack a solid wallop.

  13. #113
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    425

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review


  14. #114
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    12

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I dont think security is that worried about you hitting someone rather than stabbing them. I have taken a pasta maker as carry on before (Post September 11) and it was stretching the friendship on the weight allowance but security couldnt care less.

    I guess it would be more trouble with elbow room and not a very stable platform for extracting anyway. Plus cleaning up, they may frown if I was just to empty it into the seat pocket. ::)

    Oh well back to the muslin wringer idea.

  15. #115
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    434

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Yes, I think the logistics of using it is a greater counter-argument :)

    Maybe you need one of these:
    http://www.hailea.com/kamjove/E-kamjove/product3/chadaobei.htm
    The one I have is TP160. I know it is officially a tea maker, but works
    fine for coffee.

    Theyre brilliant. I use one for cupping -- put coarse ground coffee in the
    top, add hot water (93C), brew for four minutes, do the slurping and
    spitting thing for a while, then press the button, the coffee goes through
    to the bottom without the grounds, and I drink the rest of it like a
    normal human being. :)

    I picked up a couple on recent trips to China (actually one was given to me).

    Unfortunately I dont think theyre sold in Aus yet.

    Maybe someone should import them. Cameron??

  16. #116
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    425

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Great idea!

    Vietnam is my focus at the moment. Ill be back during the last week of July.

    Looks like they come from Taiwan. I have never brought anything in from there, maybe the HotTop importer has a contact I can talk to.

    More later.



  17. #117
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    130

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    To get back on topic...

    Just got a Rocky grinder the other day and mucking around with grinds, doses etc. with my Presso

    I used a hand grinder before which ground a bit course which was useless unless you used the plastic reducer funnel thingy (comes with the Presso) in the Presso PF. Despite the coarse grind I usually got great shots with alot of crema. The only trouble with the reducer was I was not able to dose in enough coffee to make more than a small single shot. My hand grinder grind was useless without this reducer in normal basket (I got a gusher).

    With a fine rocky grind (about 3 setting) and 15 grams of coffee the shots are okay in the normal basket but not as rich and strong as I would have expected (might be the beans Im using). Will try to updose some more. I am well aware that you cant force the Presso too much without dire consequences.

    Anyway keen to hear others experiences with the plastic funnel, grinds, dose weights etc to get a good shot. Most of the Presso threads arent so specific on these details as they are for the Silvia etc. The other variable that may influence a Presso shot is whether to "steep" the water/grind a little, ie start pushing, back off for a few seconds and start pushing again.


  18. #118
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    130

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I pulled a great shot with the presso this morning. It required 20grams of coffee and a one notch coarser grind setting (4 on RR) . Not too much undue pressure was required although probably only for the more athletic CS.

    I knew it was a good shot because I got a good head of crema that didnt dissipate like it often does. the beans are 33% Cuban altura 66 percent PNG fairtrade on a medium dark roast which isnt a monster crema mix.

    20 grams however is a fair amount of beans. I can see that upgrade-itis leads to using more coffee. At $50 per kilo for fresh roasted beans from a purveyor, home roasting really does start to pay dividends.

    By the way the coffee actually tasted good...

    Jason


  19. #119
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Our consumption is down (still 1 daily average), back to a new popper for roasting only using 150g green per week average now. Approaching two years with the Presso pair.

    Here is an early 2nd anniversary celebration video. I did one like it for my friend the day before with his new camera and we were giggling like school girls with glee.
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1231685960

    Very happy with the Presso, it is a part of the family. I havent had problems, not looked to upgrade, downgrade, sidestep... its just great. Three cheers to Cameron for bringing it to our shores and via Coffeesnobs.

  20. #120
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Hello everyone,

    Ive read through most, but not all of this thread. At the moment I have a gaggia classic and sunbeam grinder, which has worked well for me for the last few years. I have just moved into a house where there is less bench space. If possible I would like to buy a good quality smaller machine, but dont have too much money. I dont drink very much milk based coffee, I mainly drink double espressos. The presso seems to be exactly what I am after.

    I was wondering if there are any other cheap (under $300) options?.Also, is the sunbeam grinder and presso a good match? I really think this will be perfect for me. Only downside is I will have to buy a new pullman tamper.

  21. #121
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Ive still got the pair of home/work Presso and Sunbeam, back to roasting in a popper on demand. *The system is cheap, reliable, easy and still impresses onlookers and guest drinkers.

    I havent had the luxury of Mr. Pullmans finest, the Presso tamper has worked for pedantic me and my careless wife. *I drink 99% double shot with milk these days, but I might try a double espresso now for kicks since you mentioned it ;)

    edit: an alternative to compromise is to modify your bench with a shelf/stand for the coffee gear - big strong old CRT TV monitor stand for instance.
    Raise it up out of the way, or back down on the side of the bench at waist height.

  22. #122
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,162

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Ive been using mine at work for the past 12 months after taking it camping this time last year and being quite impressed. I made the portafilter bottomless which has minimised the pre-heating requirements and helps a lot with shot diagnosis. Paired with the Mazzer Mini and fresh beans it works very well for me. Mine didnt come with a tamper but thats not a problem for me ;)

    Incidentally luke83, tamper bases can be traded in for a reduced cost new one if youre getting rid of your old machine.

    Greg

  23. #123
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    18

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 7D687F7D6A6F7676777B741A0 link=1169640941/121#121 date=1239690804
    Ive been using mine at work for the past 12 months after taking it camping this time last year and being quite impressed. I made the portafilter bottomless which has minimised the pre-heating requirements and helps a lot with shot diagnosis. Paired with the Mazzer Mini and fresh beans it works very well for me. Mine didnt come with a tamper but thats not a problem for me ;)

    Incidentally luke83, tamper bases can be traded in for a reduced cost new one if youre getting rid of your old machine.

    Greg
    Greg,I understand that for a while you were selling 49,50 or 51mm (not sure exactly what size the basket is) tampers that were specifically made for the Presso,but I cant seem to find them on your website,any plans to start selling them again?
    Jamie

  24. #124
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 49424E4A46414C50404C230 link=1169640941/122#122 date=1240035067
    Quote Originally Posted by 7D687F7D6A6F7676777B741A0 link=1169640941/121#121 date=1239690804
    Ive been using mine at work for the past 12 months after taking it camping this time last year and being quite impressed. I made the portafilter bottomless which has minimised the pre-heating requirements and helps a lot with shot diagnosis. Paired with the Mazzer Mini and fresh beans it works very well for me. Mine didnt come with a tamper but thats not a problem for me ;)

    Incidentally luke83, tamper bases can be traded in for a reduced cost new one if youre getting rid of your old machine.

    Greg
    Greg,I understand that for a while you were selling 49,50 or 51mm (not sure exactly what size the basket is) tampers that were specifically made for the Presso,but I cant seem to find them on your website,any plans to start selling them again?
    Jamie
    Thanks for the info greg. I just bought another pullman tamper with my presso machine from presso australia. The way I see it is when I am not a student (and have more money) I plan on buying a new machine and grinder, my 58mm filterbasket/pullman tamper will be perfect for the new machine I will be buying in about 18months . I am then hoping I will be able to keep my presso machine (and other pullman tamper) at work.


  25. #125
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,162

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 08030F0B07000D11010D620 link=1169640941/122#122 date=1240035067
    Quote Originally Posted by 7D687F7D6A6F7676777B741A0 link=1169640941/121#121 date=1239690804
    Ive been using mine at work for the past 12 months after taking it camping this time last year and being quite impressed. I made the portafilter bottomless which has minimised the pre-heating requirements and helps a lot with shot diagnosis. Paired with the Mazzer Mini and fresh beans it works very well for me. Mine didnt come with a tamper but thats not a problem for me ;)

    Incidentally luke83, tamper bases can be traded in for a reduced cost new one if youre getting rid of your old machine.

    Greg
    Greg,I understand that for a while you were selling 49,50 or 51mm (not sure exactly what size the basket is) tampers that were specifically made for the Presso,but I cant seem to find them on your website,any plans to start selling them again?
    Jamie
    Yes we had some for a while but there was very little interest in them so we took them off our site a little while ago when doing some cleaning up. We still have one or two left I believe but will just supply these when tampers of that size are ordered. So if you wanted one you would just order a Deluxe base, specify a Presso and youll get one of those bases.

    @luke83: Sounds like a plan! [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

    Greg

  26. #126
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    3

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Im having fun playing with my presso machine. But Havent produced anything of note yet. Very fine grinds, very firm tamps and still not as rich as I would like. Im still very happy with the machine, and just need to sort a few variables out.

    Ive got 250grams of robusta beans, a new presso machine and no commitments tomorrow. Im going to have a self-instructed crash course in using my presso machine (and pullman tamper).

  27. #127
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 756C727C212A190 link=1169640941/125#125 date=1240466636
    Ive got 250grams of robusta beans, a new presso machine and no commitments tomorrow. Im going to have a self-instructed crash course in using my presso machine (and pullman tamper).
    Luke, check out Bens video, if not for instruction, pure entertainment to get you in the mood, or while enjoying one of your creations =D
    Film some yourself, artify ;)

  28. #128
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney Inner West
    Posts
    132

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Hi guys,

    Im a newbie with the Presso. I have been reading up on the bottomless portafilters. Very keen to get my hands on one. Any advise on how to go about it?

    Thanks

  29. #129
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Congratulations friskhr, your passion may outgrow a Presso to more complicated means, but it wont let you down before that time. Our two work/home Presso and EM grinders are still going strong, and with the popper roasting (2nd popper) makes it a cheap, reliable, convenient process on demand so the coffee is always fresh and tasty.

    For a naked portafilter, buy a spare portafilter ($35 online), hacksaw the bottom off one, file the edges smooth. Whoila! *The metal is chromed aluminium, so no problem breaching the chrome.

  30. #130
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney Inner West
    Posts
    132

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Thanks Stoveboy. I will look into that.

    The Presso was a present but Ive always been impressed with the Lever Machines. I guess using the Presso would be my first introduction into a manual machine.

    Having said that there is much still to learn - temperature, grind, tamp..


  31. #131
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Temperature - I have measured the temperature from boiler at work and kettles at home. They get to 94degC max after the boil stops, and it drops from there very quickly. If you put the boiled water into a non-heated Presso, it drops below 90degC by the time Ive placed the cup, PF, and lifted the arms.
    I start my routine by heat soaking the Presso with a load of boiling water while I prepare the rest. If Im talking with someone or waiting during prep, I run a 2nd heat soak in that time.

    Grind - it is critical just as for other brewing methods. Too coarse and it will run through, too fine and it will be un-pressable. Aim for your double espresso to extract in under 1 press.
    You should see the extraction colour go from black to brown to light brown (caramel, blondeing) then transparent.

    Tamping is required, but it makes less of a difference and hard to get it wrong. I like the Sunbeam DVDs guide "tamp evenly with the pressure of leaning with one arm on the bench". We dont use the single espresso reducer, you can adjust the pressure with grind and water load, my wife varies from single to double shot depending on strength desired, but doesnt listen to any of my tips, and still enjoys her coffee. I always fill the basket as I have a mug, or a strong cup.

    A naughty tip, if you pull the arms up for a 2nd press it ruins the tamp, it sucks air up and mixes all the water/grind around, and youll be extracting the blonde and transparent remains. I do this for mug-of-milk coffees when trying for as much caffeine.

  32. #132
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney Inner West
    Posts
    132

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Nearly broke me Presso today!

    I think Ive have done it all wrong. I kept topping water up to the brim whilst lifting the arms; resulting in build up of lots of pressure. I havent been able to clamp down the arms to the body in recent shots nearly snap the arms off today.

    Need some advise with the water levels - think my obsession in the pressure may lead to the downfall of my Presso.

    I thought it was an issue of grind, have gone for a coarser grind but still unpressable so I presume its the pressure. Any ideas anyone?

    Thank you all so much

  33. #133
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I hope your Presso is OK.
    Try starting again with standard water level at the 2 espresso mark on the reservoir with the arms down.
    Grind finely to get pressure, and control the extraction with the pressing force. *Ease off the arms if it is too fast but resisting a lot. *

    If there is no resistance and it is racing through, finer grind is needed.

    Remember the trick of increasing water level is just a trick for fine adjustment.
    Grind is still the major factor.

    I just watched this video again as a guide:
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1231685960
    You could stop under 30seconds (video 1m06-1m35) for a good double espresso.

  34. #134
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    90

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 3D2932283033295B0 link=1169640941/131#131 date=1255240449
    Nearly broke me Presso today!

    I think Ive have done it all wrong. I kept topping water up to the brim whilst lifting the arms; resulting in build up of lots of pressure. I havent been able to clamp down the arms to the body in recent shots nearly snap the arms off today.

    Need some advise with the water levels - think my obsession in the pressure may lead to the downfall of my Presso.

    I thought it was an issue of grind, have gone for a coarser grind but still unpressable so I presume its the pressure. Any ideas anyone?

    Thank you all so much

    >.> ur fortunate.. i broke my 2day old one today.. kind of .. a screw dropped out and upon sticking it back in the thread seems to be busted. will send an email 2morrow morning i guess


    S: i think my pressure was pretty spot on though cos i was getting excellent shots with good crema and the extraction of the espresso wasnt broken

  35. #135
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney Inner West
    Posts
    132

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Ouch! ..

    Is it all resolved now?

    Thats just sad. Ive now followed stoveboys advice in filling up the hot water. Seem to be getting some good results recently.

    Thanks Stoveboy!

  36. #136
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    130

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    My presso is just about as old as my three year old son and Im still using it regularly. I remember being dissapointed with the shots at first but after the first six months I realised it is all about your beans (fresh roasted) and grinder (fine espresso grind). With those two elements sorted the Presso seems to work as well as any machine ( although making coffees for a crowd can tedious).

    Hot tips -

    Dont push too hard. The armatures have been strengthened since they were first released.

    Make sure the portafilter is on nice and tight

    Us a timer to make sure that you get your (double) shot in about 20 seconds.

    Your tamped basket should be full to the brim

    Fill the water chamber to the brim prior to the pull(as often mentioned in this thread).

    After many shots you get to sense what is the right pressure, grind, timing, volume - it is a very tactile device which is nice.

  37. #137
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Sydney Inner West
    Posts
    132

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 7156525D5B565257330 link=1169640941/135#135 date=1263205964
    ( although making coffees for a crowd can tedious).

    *
    Ditto comment... once had about 10 guests which each wanted a cuppa. It was hard work!


  38. #138
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Quote Originally Posted by 5F787C7375787C791D0 link=1169640941/135#135 date=1263205964
    it is a very tactile device which is nice. *
    Thats what I really love about the manual method of Presso.

    How sweet it is to have just made a brew and see a reply to this thread.
    Admittedly I discovered iced coffees this summer, and making my own affogato, Im saying goodbye to summer with one last iced coffee (just affogato with milk in a wine glass ;)

  39. #139
    Senior Member SniffCoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    676

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I have recently joined the Presso fraternity.

    What a delightful machine. Good looking (impresses visitors, nice and shiny and symmetrical) - easy to clean, and as Al_cappuccino says, a nice manual process. And a bargain when purchased from Presso direct.

    As a complete Coffeenoob, together with my Aeropress it has been a great teacher. Thanks to Stoveboy and all the other posters - your advice and photos are a great educator!

    My morning routine so far, adopting what I have read in the thread:

    1. Grind beans with my Hario hand grinder - (thanks to Greg and Robin at thingscoffee) I measure out two scoops of beans with the Presso scoop/tamper, and then grind. One scoop is decaf, to contain the addiction.

    2. Boiling water into the Aeropress, with portafilter on (but no coffee). Lift the arms, leave them up and let the water dribble through the portafilter into waiting coffee glass. That water goes back in the kettle for reboiling.

    3. If I have time, a little steamed milk with my Bellman (thanks to Di Bartoli). Otherwise the milk is zapped in the glass in the microwave and then the Presso frother utilised for a little froth.

    4. Dry and fill the portafilter. I find the two scoops of beans when ground fills the PF just below the top, and then tamp it down with the scoop - not too hard at all. This process will be modified when my Pullman tamper arrives. I find I can fit a taller glass into the Presso if I put it in from the back - that way the PF handle doesnt get in the way.

    5. Boiling water in to just above the two cup level, arms lifted, short pause, and full press down, grab on to base. Just like Stoveboys instructions, get a dark stream of coffee which gradually lightens - probably too quickly at the moment but it doesnt worry me. A second press and a huge blob of bubbles/crema arrives at the end, and then release to get the little pschhht.

    6. Then, most importantly, pick up the glass then rotate 360 degrees (as seen in the kettle reflection in Stoveboys video), then place glass back on counter for the undulating waves show! My two young sons like watching that part.

    7. Left with a nice dry hard puck. Let the coffee settle in the glass while cleaning up in a matter of seconds and then enjoy the latte.

    In total a true tactile experience. A real handcrafted cup of coffee!

    Mmmmmmmmm.......

    Cheers

    James
    SniffCoffee

  40. #140
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    James, SniffCoffee, you are severely addicted =D
    If sniffing wasnt such a serious problem in WA (paint sniffers, Troy Buswell--resigned Treasurer--sniffing females chairs) then Id be able to find a lot more humour in it.

    You can do steps 1 to 6 singing to the hokey pokey tune for your boys, for the grand finale "And thats what its all about!". Consider that a youtube family coffee video request from me :)

    Thanks,
    David.

  41. #141
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    1

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I have had a presso for nearly a year and thought I would give some info I dont read on the net much. Firstly it does make a good coffee/crema as in pics. Now the problems, after about 6 months of using it every day it just lost its sealing and wouldnt keep pressure anymore. I got another O ring but this did not fix the problem, eventually they replaced the unit but I know of another person who is beginning to have the same problem. I think it might be the fact the piston is made of plastic and the heat is warping it over time. A design this simple should last 50 years. Another thing not so good about it is that the aluminium oxidizes in a short while and leaves grey marks on your bench and the unit itself looks dull.

  42. #142
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Posts
    921

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Joined the presso clan the other day thanks to another CS and after a short play I am impressed with the results. I am no where near good results but after a few trys and reading up on this thread I pulled a shot which was ok. For the price I think it is a great tool, it will come in very handy when I am on the road away from the espresso machine.

    I am very much looking forward to trying some different beans and different methods of pulling a shot to see what works for me.

  43. #143
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,266

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    After living (rather, working--the Presso is at work) with my Presso for all of two days, here is my take on getting the best coffee.

    1 Make the group handle naked. This simplifies both heating and cleaning.

    2 Put machine in sink and run some hot water through to heat all the parts. In the sink cause the water goes everywhere!

    3 Grind the coffee (one Kyocera full). Dump in basket and tamp.

    4 Lock handle in the machine.

    5 Add twice as much water as you want coffee. For me this is just short of full to the brim.

    6 Lift handles until most of water has drained through.

    7 Start pushing the handles. Stop when 50 ml of coffee has been produced in 30 seconds, or at the start of blonding. I have to press fairly hard.

    8 Remove cup and place whole machine back in sink for cleaning.

    9 Drink.

    This makes a very nice espresso, quite different from the Diadema (so far) but very enjoyable either with or without milk.

    Ive already converted one of the coffee appreciators at work to the Presso. The others want long drinks and prefer the ease of the Aeropress.

    Greg

  44. #144
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Its hard to believe Ive had mine for over 3.5years now.
    So much has changed in my life (all good, married, first baby girl), but my coffee system is still the same dependable system.
    - 1 x Presso (home) with Sunbeam 0480 grinder, 2+ times daily use for 3.5 years.
    - 1 x Presso (work) with Sunbeam 0450 grinder, 1-2 times weekdays for over 2.5 years in office.
    - Breville Crazy Popper (2nd one, stock with soup can inserted for chimney)

    I havent done any cleaning or maintenance to either Presso.
    The work unit is shiny and close to new because I tea-towel dried it at work after each use to put it back in the work kitchen cupboard.

    Our home Presso would get a rinse and sit on the drying rack then back on the bench, so doesnt have the same like new lustre, but if it mattered to anyone, you could polish it back to new.

    I havent replaced any seals, though Cameron did send through a couple of the pre-portafilter silicon discs. I found any accumulation of oily bean clogging the silicons fine pores was able to be cleaned with a safety pin point. I since stopped roasting the beans as dark, so I dont have as much oily build up, and the wife likes the milder flavour.

    Im able to make a half milk, half double shot cup of coffee daily consistently to the taste I like (or twice daily as I sip this one for a bonus naughty night coffee). My local cafe racer destination for coffee and pizza I visit once a week has only served a few bad coffees over a year or two that Ive noticed and had to put sugar in to bear it, so I figure my home roast and brew system is doing pretty well.

    Recalling the first pours of the Presso with cheap nasty vac pack coarse grind, reminds me how critical getting the right grind for your machine is.

    I have just planted my first vegetable patch from (organic) seed, and have two sections of carrots, one with knocked out pucks from Presso sprinkled along with the seed, testing whether the coffee grind potentially keeps things from eating the delicate little carrot seeds. If that works, add it to the list of no-plastic reasons against a Nespresso machine. They are formidable competition though!

  45. #145
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review


    Short life with my Presso: *http://iamanattentionseeker.com

  46. #146
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I take from that its great to see Presso had immediate responses and offered replacement parts and whole unit replacement.

    It also looks like a good example that they would likely replace parts for anyone else who finds manufacturing faults after their warranty, if they had a known issue over some batch.

    Thanks for the photos and info Andre, Im sure it will help others who already own a Presso, and those who want to buy one to be assured that they have good customer service and address any product issues.

  47. #147
    Senior Member SniffCoffee's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Canberra
    Posts
    676

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I agree David, Ive personally found the service from Presso excellent. *There was a slight defect in my original portafilter, and a quick call to Presso and a new one was posted out to me.

    Ive since purchased an extra portafilter and got Greg Pullman to make it naked for me, for a very reasonable $50 including return registered postage. *He did a great job, the portafilter looks like it was naked from the day it was made.

    I have noticed that the naked portafilter changed the pressure I needed to apply - and spent a couple of weeks slowly making my grind finer. *The result was a massive increase in crema, but a much slower extraction.

    I then started making the grind coarser, and now have achieved a happy medium where I get a good crema and guiness effect, and a reasonably fast pour.

    I have also become a convert to overfilling the chamber with water. *I now usually fill it to the two cup mark, lift the arms and then keep filling until the water is about 1cm below the silicon o-ring.

    I am now applying a lot more pressure during the pour - to the point where the little bit of air above the water is quickly compressed down and where I get a lot of crema, and to the point where I can hear a slight psscht from the silicon o-ring.

    The side effect is that occasionally I get a very fine needle spray coming out of the portafilter - is this an example of channeling I wonder?

    So, my method above has changed - adopting various tips I have picked up from reading this thread.

    1. *put boiling water into cups and Presso to warm.
    2. *steam milk and get microfoam ready.
    3. *grind coffee into naked portafilter (I also got a dosing funnel which makes this much easier and tidier)
    4. *tamp reasonably lightly, so the top of the puck is only about 3mm below the top of the basket.
    5. *fill to two cup mark with boiling water
    6. *lift arms to top
    7. *CAREFULLY add extra water to about 1 cm below the plunger and o-ring
    8. extract 60mls in about 40 seconds? (still too long?)
    9. Divide among two cups and top up with milk.

    The simplicity of the Presso still impresses me. It is a stylish little device that does produce a good cup of coffee, every morning.

    Regards

    James
    SniffCoffee ;)


  48. #148
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Hi James, nice to hear you have your R&D advancing your process :)

    Thats what I like about the manual controls, you can adjust things consciously and observe the effect on the brew. I realised earlier out of the place I worked at for over 4years, nearly 3 years with Presso there, nearly 400 people in the building, average 30% turnover of staff each year... nobody else had a Presso. With a large number of software, electrical, electronic and hardware engineers, testers, integration, I was surprised.

    I did find one guy whose son had bought one, but not due to my influence. I guess Im not cool and good looking enough to have JFK/Obama charisma to lead the masses =D

    I just had another successful cup. I did pay for last nights late one, not waking til midday ;)

    cheers,
    David.

  49. #149
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    121

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    I just did my first group charity fund raising with Presso, for Movember, since my Mo itself wasnt bringing anything but pity.
    A dozen new colleagues (Ive been here just over a month) responded, out of 30+ staff, pretty happy with the response.

    I was impressed that 5 of 12 were espresso or long blacks. I always put double shots in Presso, and just pull shorter if person wants a milder (weaker) milk coffee.

    Some were quite impressed with the Presso, and donations started at $2ea, with half of the half collected so far being double or more with some extra thanks comments on it being really good.

    One guy who likes it is now considering it for his wifes christmas present (he said online from Presso is $180 with greens bonus, what a deal!).

  50. #150
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    19

    Re: Living with Presso: ongoing review

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    I have started to see some corrosion on my presso :(

    It’s had a rough life and spend 1/4 of the 13months in either humidity around 95% or in salty air.

    Still, nothing a bit of zinc oxide paste on the Stainless screw would have fixed.

    Not sure if that was taken into account in the initial design but for those of you planning on getting one, take it apart when you get it, put zinc paste on all the stainless screw threads and it should last a bit better.

    I have since put a tiny bead of silicone around the top of the plastic/\/acrylic cup and the main body, just to stop water going in between this gap when cleaning. It isnt that hard to remove the silicone with your thumb nail when you want to take it all apart.

    Other than that Im really liking the presso, once you dial in your grind and get used to how it behaves you can get a great shot from it.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 1 2 3 4 5 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. My first days living with Oscar
    By raphec in forum Brewing Equipment - Midrange ($500-$1500)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 3rd September 2008, 01:51 PM
  2. CSr living in Victor Harbor S.A???
    By rayzurhed in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 7th November 2006, 06:54 PM
  3. Living Coffee on TV
    By davwhite in forum General News
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20th June 2005, 12:15 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •