Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By gundy
  • 1 Post By wfdTamar
  • 1 Post By TampIt

Thread: Recommended equipment upgrades for PU6910

Question Recommended equipment upgrades for PU6910

Hello,
    I'm just a beginner and recently purchased a Sunbeam EM6910+EM0440 for sub $500.

I know there are better out there (particularly the grinder) but for the price it's hard to beat for an entry into good coffee. It's very enjoyable playing around with it getting the most for the equipment.

However I'm interested in upgrading it a little but don't want to spend much. I've already bought a +/-0.1g scales for dosing and milk thermometer to get the right temp but I'm wondering what else I could buy that would have the biggest impact for this setup? I'm thinking either a better basket (VST etc) and or tamper.

I know a better grinder would make the most difference but don't want to drop another $300 right now.

Thanks very much in advance

Sam

Hi Sam,

Options are endless, but at the end of the day If you have a budget in mind i say do your best to stick to it. In my opinion you couldn't go wrong with a Rancillio Silvia. I dont know what your budget is but a sponsor on here has the new bundled with a Macap M2M for approx $1200>. I dont know what your budget is but sometimes it worth going a tad over knowing you are going to get something that will not only last but also that you will be happy with.

If you are really on a tight budget, but really want a newer machine and grinder, save save save until you have the funds.

Cheers,

Chris

Hi Chris! Thanks for the reply.

Yes eventally I would like something similiar to what you described.