Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By ozscott
  • 1 Post By LeroyC
  • 1 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By 2muchcoffeeman

Thread: Advice on getting a new, plumbed and drained machine up to $2,000.

Advice on getting a new, plumbed and drained machine up to $2,000.

I've been making our coffees each morning for a few years now on low end machines (mainly Sunbeam cafe range). I buy beans from a shop that roasts their own and try to use them 1 to 3 weeks after roasting. We have two grinders for decaf (the wife) and real beans. I think I make a good drop and make friends tell me so. They always come back for more but it's either for the coffee or the conversation. (It must the coffee, I think.)

However, I'm pretty fed up with emptying the tray and filling the reservoir almost every day and dream about getting a machine plumbed to the house water supply and drained into the kitchen sink-drain.

And so I come, cap-in-hand to the experts to ask for the name of a machine that can be plumbed and drained and also produce a drop better than I can make (so I can learn to make a better drop than I can now).

Many thanks for your consideration.
    Last edited by GeorgeP; 24th January 2017 at 01:13 PM. Reason: punctuation

I also heard that a filter is essential to stop salts and minerals from destroying the innards as happened to two previous low-end-of-market machines. Is this correct?

On reflection, $2,000 might not be the limit.

You should get some of the excellent site sponsors offering you a very good selection of machines at that price. Funnily enough I have seen people biying so called superautos at white good suppliers for that budget... What grinders do you have because that is a very important part of the equation. You may spend half of that 2k on a grinder if you are using a Sunbeam grinder or similar. Cheers

Hi ozscott.