Like Tree2Likes
  • 1 Post By level3ninja
  • 1 Post By noidle22

Thread: Help! Breville*BES920 Dual Boiler*won't produce steam after descale

Exclamation Help! Breville*BES920 Dual Boiler*won't produce steam after descale

Hi everyone! I'm new to coffee snobs and in dire need of help. Did my first descale last night and the everything seemed to go ok, but after switching the machine on this morning it doesn't want to produce steam.

I've done another descale today hoping last night's process may have simply caused some build up to create a blockage but unfortunately I'm no closer to steam.

Hoping there's something silly I've done and haven't caused too much damage. If anyone can provide any advice before I take it into the shop I'd very much appreciate it.

Thanks everyone!

Unfortunately there is a known issue with all 920s sold up until a certain point that the programming for the descale leaves the steam boiler element on without any water in the boiler. This kills the element. Call Breville tomorrow. It will need to go in for repairs, or they will tell you how to fix it.
    Last edited by level3ninja; 5th June 2017 at 08:14 PM.
    matth3wh likes this.

Bad luck, is it still under warranty?

Help! Breville*BES920 Dual Boiler*won't produce steam after descale

If its a known issue probably no wiggle room for breville not to fix regardless of product warranty status

Hopefully it's tripped the thermal fuse before the element has blown. That's what the fuse was designed to do.

The 920's that I have repaired for this problem have only ever needed a new fuse. Unfortunately it's still a complete disassembly, boiler out job which is a massive pain.
    matth3wh likes this.

Mine had bits of the element (I assume, something that looked and smelled metallic) come out into the drip tray.

Did I read somewhere there's a new procedure for the descaling? Sure I saw mention in a long thread of failed steam heaters.