• 1 Post By Erimus
  • 1 Post By Crema_Lad
  • 1 Post By sacsnob
  • 5 Post By JetBlack_Espresso
  • 1 Post By Jamie6662
  • 1 Post By rawill
  • 1 Post By LeroyC
  • 1 Post By csutak40

Thread: Do I really need a separate grinder?

Do I really need a separate grinder?

I'm looking at buying a coffee machine. I don't want to spend more than $1000 max.
    The one I'm thinking about is the breville BES870BSS.
    I saw somewhere that is was recommended not to use the grinder that comes with the machine and to buy a good separate one.
    Why is the one that comes as part of the machine not good enough?
    Sounds a bit complicated if that's the case.
    What has been your experience?
    I'm new to coffee machines and don't want to complicate things but I do love a great coffee that doesn't taste like burnt dirty dishwater!

Which drinks do you want to make and how frequently?

You might be better buying a good second hand Silvia and Rocky etc for your 1000 clams. Cheers

If you're just starting out that one will do ok. The reason people suggest a separate grinder is that that grinder isn't great, and any built in grinder will tend to be hotter than a separate grinder as a coffee machine is quite warm inside. Heat is very bad for beans unless it's during roasting or extraction. If you're just learning this machine will work, and when you outgrow it and upgrade you can get a machine and separate grinder.

Or as mentioned above a second hand Silvia machine and Rocky grinder will do you well and last longer and will allow your skills to grow more before upgrading.
    matth3wh likes this.

Daily at least.
    Strong(ish) latte

Even though I'm learning, I don't want bad tasting coffee which is what I've encountered with every home coffee that I've ever been made in my life from a coffee machine.
    If it's going to make grey looking burned and bitter undrinkable coffee then I won't get one!
    Would the built in grinder really be that bad?