Like Tree3Likes
  • 1 Post By level3ninja
  • 1 Post By level3ninja
  • 1 Post By toorakwa

Thread: EM7100 Screeching Noise when using steam

Unhappy EM7100 Screeching Noise when using steam

Hi all

Absolutely Coffee newbie here!

Bought a Sunbeam EM7100 and Breville Smart Grinder Pro yesterday and spent a couple of hours experimenting last night

I managed to get the grind correct and pull a decent Espresso shot, however having issues with a very loud noise when trying to texture the milk

Basically I put around 400ml of milk into the supplied jug, insert the tip of the wand just under the milk surface and turn the steam on, the volume level is quite deafening, and doesn't at all sound like what a Caf or similar sounds like
    I've tried experimenting with the angle of the wand, depth of the wand etc, but the volume is very very loud. My question is could this be a faulty wand or just me technique?

The milk gets hot, so steam is working, but I need some advice

Thanks all in advance

Hi Luke, welcome.
    Is the noise there when the steam wand is not in the milk, like if you just switch it on? If not then it's technique. The milk makes a screaming noise when the tip is too deep. No more than 1/4 of the tip should be under the milk when you start steaming.
    If the noise is there when the steam wand is just in air then it's due to the thermoblock that produces the steam, whereas cafes will have boilers in their machines.

Check out this video, watch from 5:10 to see the streaming
    https://youtu.be/LkGQtHq7-HU
    Notice at 5.37-5.38 he has the tip too deep and it screams a little bit but he lowers the jug and the noise disappears.
    rawill likes this.

Thanks Ninja,

To be honest the screaming noise in that video is pretty much what I experienced. I had basically the whole tip under the milk surface and it screamed the whole time...