Results 1 to 41 of 41
Like Tree1Likes

Thread: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

  1. #1
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    14,071

    Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    This thread is for the posting of basic information/reviews of espresso machines and is intended to be used as a starting point for those looking at acquiring a new machine.

    For ease of reading posts should be made using the following format:

    Machine Name:
    Price Range:
    Features (thermoblock, dual boilers, etc):
    Notes:

    This thread is not for any discussion, only informational posts in the above format. Any posts made not of this type will be deleted.

    Unless you have some additional information about a machine that has already been covered please do not make an additional post.

    Please use the regular forum for any discussion or questions.

    For further information on a particular machine use the search button at the top of the page, or alternatively use your favorite search engine and add the string site:coffeesnobs.com.au to limit the returns to only this site.


    Java "Data! We must have more data!!" phile

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    389

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    This is my first decent espresso machine and am certainly no expert but this is my experience of my machine so far

    Machine Name: Expobar Office Semi-auto/auto
    Price Range: Semi-auto Fits in the over $1500 range (at time of writing), Auto over $1700
    Features: Heat Exchanger, E61 style group (not genuine E61 though), Brew and Steam simultaneously (never tried) *
    Notes: The semi-auto is the base model in the Expobar range, an entry level HX machine. The auto adds a volumetric touch pad.

    Is really easy to use. The shower screen does sit fairly low on these but I have just adjusted my dosing technique accordingly. I went straight to this machine so cant compare it to a single boiler or any other machine. Takes commercial portafilters and baskets.
    Most importantly site sponsors can look after you for both sale and service of this machine.


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    239

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: La San Marco 85-16M-2 (2grp)
    Price Range: over $3k+ (not a current model so 2nd hand price much less than this)
    Features:
    - Heat Exchanger,
    - simultaneous brew and steam,
    - hot water spout,
    - semi-auto and full-auto operation,
    - volumetric dosing,
    - 53mm portafilters,
    - plumbed in water and drainage (of course).
    - 12L boiler
    - 3,000W heating element
    - external rotary pump w/300W motor
    - comes standard with water softner and filter

    Notes: Is very heavy (as with most commercial machines this size) appears quite well designed.
    This model is La San Marcos most successfull production run.First released in 1985, production continued until 2004 (almost 20yrs).

    One feature worth noting relates to the fully-automatic nature of the machine. While it does an electronics control button-pad with programmable pre-set dosing as well as semi-auto function on this pad....it also contains an "emergency" set of heavy duty switches on the left had side.
    One to switch between "manual" (semi-auto) and Auto (full-auto)
    And one for each group.

    These switches operate completely independantly of the electronic button-pad and as the manual states, are to be used in case of failure of the electronics system.

    Very handy if youre apprehensive of electronics on these kind of machines.


  4. #4
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: ECM Giotto Premium- discontinued Aug 08
    Price Range: RRP $2550

    Features: *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout,
    - teflon lined cool touch wands
    - lever operated e-61 group, *
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - plumbing not recommended
    - 1.8L boiler
    - 1300W heating element
    - internal vibe pump

    Notes: Top quality chrome plated stainless steel model. *



  5. #5
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: ECM Veneziano Family
    Price Range: RRP circa $4k Veneziano S1, RRP circa $4.5k Veneziano A1 displayed Discontinued 2008

    Features: *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout,
    - teflon lined cool touch wands
    - S1 has lever operated e-61 group as per ECM Giotto, *A1 has Volumetric touch pad
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - tank or plumb in via switch
    - 2.5L boiler
    - 1800W heating element
    - internal rotary pump

    Notes: The Veneziano has been used in recent heats of Aust barista comps...The S1 model is much rarer in Australia- approximately 10 in total exist. The S1 removes the Volumetric touchpad and replaces the group with a Giotto style e-61 lever group- the result looks like a bigger, but commercial Giotto *;).



  6. #6
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: ECM Botticelli
    Price Range: RRP circa $1k. NB NO LONGER IMPORTED INTO AUSTRALAI

    Features: *
    - single boiler machine,
    - high polish stainless steel,
    - temperature gauge, *
    - hot water spout via steam wand- which is fixed,
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - 0.4L boiler
    - 1200W heating element
    - internal vibe pump

    Notes: A competitor to the Rancilio Silvia



  7. #7
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Rancilio Silvia
    Price Range: RRP $825

    Features:
    *

    - single boiler machine, *
    - satin finish stainless steel, *
    - hot water spout via steam wand- which rotates but is not ball-jointed
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - 0.3L boiler *
    - 1200W heating element *
    - internal vibe pump
    *
    Notes: Shower screen fairly low on this model. Updosing can be quite challenging *;)


  8. #8
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Expobar Office leva eb-61
    Price Range: circa $2.2k


    Features: *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout, *
    - lever operated eb-61 group, *
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - plumbing not recommended
    - 1.8L boiler *
    - 1300W heating element *
    - internal vibe pump
    *
    Notes: Spanish built competitor to Giotto and similar. eb-61 shower screen is lower than that of e-61 in Giotto, Diadema etc. These machines typically ship at 12+ bar pump pressure and require adjustment. Build quality is not as good as the Italian machines


  9. #9
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Expobar Office Minore II/Brewtus II
    Price Range: RRP circa $2.6k *

    *
    Features: *
    - Dual boiler machine, *
    - HX in steam boiler supplies water to brew boiler,
    - Gauges for boiler and pump pressure,
    - simultaneous brew and steam, * *
    - hot water spout, *
    - lever operated eb-61 group, * *
    - 58mm portafilters, * *
    - plumb in via conversion to rotary pump (+high $300s?). NB internal tank is lost with this modification
    - 2 x 1.5L boilers *
    - 1200W heating element in each *
    - internal vibe pump *
    *
    Notes: Spanish built. eb-61 shower screen is lower than that of e-61 in Giotto, Diadema etc. These machines typically ship at 12+ bar pump pressure and require adjustment. Build quality is not as good as the Italian machines. I have found that a full bench test and comprehensive check is advisable.

  10. #10
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Diadema/Unico range
    Price Range: low mid $2k to high $2k


    Features: *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout, *
    - teflon lined cool touch wands
    - lever operated e-61 group except Diadema Junior plus semi-auto (funky toggles ;)) *
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - plumbing not recommended
    - 1.3L boiler *
    - 1300W heating element *
    - internal vibe pump
    *
    Notes: Top quality Italian machines. Wands rotate through one plane in leva and Unico splendor (easily bent to suit); wands are ball jointed on Junior plus, Elettronica. Diademas are absolute workhorses and superbly constructed.


  11. #11
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Iberital LAnna/Handy
    Price Range: circa $3k (I think ;))

    Features:
    *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout, *
    - Semi-auto or Volumetric touch pad
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - 2L tank or plumb in
    - 4L boiler *
    - 2400W heating element *
    - internal rotary pump
    *
    Notes: Lower priced competitor to ECM Veneziano...


  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Quaha/Imat Junior/Mokita, Nemox Junior, Fenice
    Price Range: $500-$600


    Features:
    * 300mL single brass boiler
    * 1100W heating element
    * Vibratory pump
    * 57mm portafilter (53mm on Nemox Junior)
    * 3L (approx) internal tank
    * Rotating steam / hot water wand (no ball joint)
    * Series 2 and later machines have a 3-way valve

    Notes: Good entry level higher end domestic machine. Some minor build quality issues but will generally last many years without significant breakages. Some supply problems in late 2006, but very similar to the Nemox machines which are still available.


    Machine Name: Quaha/Imat Napoletana/Mokita Combi, Nemox Napoletana, Opera
    Price Range: $680-$750


    Features:
    * Identical to the Junior/Mokita above but with a built-in burr grinder.
    * 53mm portafilter on Nemox Napoletana

    Notes: As above. Excellent value for money, as it has the Lux grinder built into the body means one less thing on the bench. Cheaper than buying a Junior / Mokita and a Lux separately. Grinder is noisy though.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,495

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Used commercial Machine
    Acquisition Price: From about $300 upwards
    Price buying New: $3.5K - Skys the Limit


    Features:
    -heat exchanger
    -one to four groups
    -Capable of producing excellent espresso (as fast as you can fill/tamp/load the pf)
    -can texture milk continuously
    -standard portafilter
    -rotary pump

    Notes:
    -When purchasing S/H unit first check spares are available for that machine from CoffeeParts - in which case they are very cheap!
    -one group machines are harder to find and are more expensive
    -generally require to be plumbed into water and a drain - some can draw water from a container (check the type of rotary pump)
    -will generally require some TLC to restore to top condition
    -really only practical for someone with the skills/knowledge/time to do the restoration themselves
    -once restored they will produce quality espresso for ever!
    -require a quality grinder for best results.

    Cautions:
    Generally require special high current power run (>15 Amps- some as high as 30 Amps). Single group will sometimes plug into a standard outlet.
    For the higher number of groups check they are not 3 phase only - not a problem if you have 3 phase power! Some can be converted to single phase.
    If left on 24/7 consume heaps of power (several hundred watts per hour)
    If switched on "when required" they take an hour for the temp to stabalise.
    Require lots of bench space - especially 2 group and above.

    Once restored are a pleasure to own and operate - and will put an end to "upgradeitis"!!

  14. #14
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    265

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Maver Makin Espresso
    Price Range: mid $2k Discontinued 2009

    Features:
    -1.3L boiler
    -1300W element
    -Heat exchanger
    -Both brew pressure and boiler pressure gauges
    -E61 group head
    -Ball jointed hot water wand
    -Ball jointed steam wand
    -Large, easily removeable drip tray
    -Weight-activated water sensor
    -Power on, element on and at temperature lights
    -Element and temperature lights turn off to indicate low water
    -MA-TER XP700 pressurestat
    -Internal vibratory pump
    -3L reservoir
    -Resin filter
    -Two ergonomically angled portafilters
    -Cup tray has cup retaining rail and is easily removeable
    -Dimensions: 29x41x43 cm
    -Weight: 18kg

    Notes: *The case on this machine has been built so that it has smoothed edges. *The stock double basket is quite large. *Unfortunately, we couldnt talk Maver out of including the standard crappy plastic tamper *:P




  15. #15
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    265

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: La Marzocco GS/3
    Indicative Price Range: circa $7.2k

    Features:
    -1.5L Stainless Steel Brew Boiler
    -Saturated Group Head
    -Preheated Brew Water
    -3.5L Stainless Steel Steam Boiler
    -3.5L Water Reservoir
    -DxWxH = 53cm x 40cm x 35.5cm
    -PID Temperature Control (and other digital niftyness)
    -"Cool Touch" Stainless Steel Hot Water and Steam Wands
    -Internal Rotary Pump
    -Paddle Group (Manual Preinfusion Control) Optional Retrofit In Future

    Notes:

    "La Marzoccos GS/3 dramatically resets standards for performance among home and light commercial categories."

    Lets get some basics out of the way. *No, we havent used one. *No, we dont have one in stock. *No, we havent even seen one. *However, the rock-solid performance of the La Marzocco line is reason enough to put our faith into this particular machine. *GS/3 users will have not only the best home machine, but perhaps the best machine full stop, at their disposal.

    La Marzocco are a relatively small manufacturer. *The GS/3 production line is backed up with pre-orders for quite some time. *If anyone wants one, it is probably a good idea to order sooner rather than later.


  16. #16
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    265

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Nuova Simonelli Oscar Professional
    Price Range: $1.3 to $1.4k
    Sponsor Suppliers: Veneziano Coffee

    [b]Features:[b]
    -2L insulated boiler
    -1200W element
    -Heat exchanger
    -ABS plastic body
    -Innovative metal plate under cup heating tray
    -Proprietary thermosyphon group
    -Ball jointed steam wand
    -Power on, element on, brewing and low water indicator lights
    -Internal vibratory pump
    -Resin filter
    -Dimensions: 41x41x31 cm
    -Weight: 14kg

    Notes:

    Nuova Simonellis Oscar espresso machine is an entry-level heat exchanger, delivering a lot of bang for your buck.

  17. #17
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Vibiemme Domobar Super family
    Price Range: RRP circa $2.4k (black sides, lever, tank) - $3.3k (volumetric, chrome sides)

    Features: *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout,
    - proprietory lever operated e-61 group
    - Volumetric touch pad models available
    - pump and boiler pressure gauges
    - 3 stage off/fill/on switch allows pump to be switched on without element (safe filling)
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - 3L tank
    - 2.7L boiler
    - 1800W heating element
    - internal vibe pump
    - huge drip tray (pull out draw)
    - plumb-in only model available

    Notes: Internal and external build quality is incredible with many commercial components including a parker pressuresat. I believe that this is probably the best prosumer machine I have seen. Pump and boiler pressure easily adjustable. Huge steam capacity but large holes (2) in wand. Some owners may modify tips to slow things down a touch...Its HEAVY at about 28kg dry...An interesting review by Mark Prince of the US spec model (smaller boiler and other changes) can be found at: http://www.coffeegeek.com/proreviews...rsuper/details

  18. #18
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Vibiemme Domobar levetta
    Price Range: RRP circa $1.3k black sides- $1.7k+ stainless steel sides *:o

    Features: *
    - Single 1.5L boiler, *
    - 4 hole steam wand doubles as hot water spout as per Silvia
    - proprietory lever operated e-61 group
    - Volumetric touch pad models available
    - boiler pressure gauge
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - 3L tank
    - 15kg
    - 1300W? heating element
    - internal vibe pump
    - drip tray (pull out draw)

    Notes: Internal and external build quality is excellent but huge 4-hole steam wand may make milk texture a difficult exercise. Some owners may modify tips to slow things down a touch...Pricey *:o (low end HX machines are available at simlar prices) but may be suitable for the espresso lover. If youve always wanted an e-61 Silvia and have spare $$$, this may be for you...

  19. #19
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    623

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Diamond Italia
    Price: RRP $2200
    Supplier: Pioneer Coffee Roastery

    Features:
    Mechanical Infusion Piston *
    Full stainless steel chassis with chromed, heat resistant plastic side panels *
    Thermo-Syphon System *
    Copper boiler, 1.8 ltr capacity *
    Boiler Level Control: Electronic probe inside the boiler *
    Brewing Group Head: *Professional E61 group head nickel plated quality copper *
    Heating Element: *Special "long-life" metal league 1400 W *
    Steam Wand: *No-burn stainless steel *
    Hydraulic Supply: *Via Water Tank *
    Water Tank: *Removable 3ltr reservoir, with safety switch *
    Pump: *Vibration pump, with backpressure safety device *
    Power supply: *240 volts *
    Dimensions (W X D X H): *36 cm x 39 cm x 37 cm *
    Weight: *14 kg *

    24 Month’s Warranty: *
    Full 24 months warranty with parts and labour offered on the Italia *
    E61 Group Head & Copper Boiler: *
    The first features to note on this machine are the copper boiler and the professional E61 brewing group head, which are found in all of the best commercial espresso machines. These components if maintained properly could last you a life time. *
    Professional Steam Wand: *
    The professional steam arm gives you absolute control when steaming your milk or hot chocolate. The steam wand is fitted with Anti-burn safety features and is a 360° swivel joint for easy use. *
    Removable Water Tank / Drip Tray:
    The Removable 3 ltr tank and drip tray removes the need for plumbing and allows for easy set-up and ongoing use. A pressure switch also automatically switches the machine off when there is insufficient water in the tank


  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Perth
    Posts
    362

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    After living with my Isomac Mondiale for a little over year now, I thought Id provide a bit of a restrospective...

    Firstly, the machine...

    Heat-Exchanger
    2.2 litre stainless steel boiler
    Solid stainless steel porta-filters
    Built in water softener,
    E61 Grouphead

    Other Specifications:

    Height 430 mm
    Width 340 mm
    Depth 485 mm
    Weight 26 kg
    Boiler 2.2 Ltr
    Tank * * * * 3 Ltr
    Power 1400 W
    Voltage 230 V – 50 Hz


    So what has it been like living with the Mondiale?

    Things I love...

    Power & recovery - I entertain... lots. *And this thing can churn out a dozen plus coffees (complete with steamed milk) in rapid succession without the faintest wheeze. *When Im pumping out the flat-whites, I imagine this thing looking at me as if to say "Is that all youve got?".

    Toggle Controls (steam & hot water) - when Im up against it, these things are just great. *Flick... lots of steam. *Flick... steam stops. *Partial flick... steam wand purged. *This is probably my favourite (and most time saving) feature.

    360 Degree Ball Joints (Steaming Wands) - Again, a very cool feature that allows for tremendous flexibility in getting a really tight vortex around the steam tip. Silky smooth milk follows every time - no exceptions.

    Things I loathe...

    Failing Pressure-Stats - Im on my third pressure stat in 12 months. *WTF? *When I had my first replaced, there was some concession that the standard (domestic spec) p/s was prone to failure, particularly if the machine is left on 24/7 (as mine was). *My replacement was a Commercial quality spec p/s to ensure I wouldnt experience a failure ever again (OK, not guaranteed to last forever, but at least for a long time). *Six months later... rumble rumble (boiler remaining at full power), hissssss (queue safety valve venting). *Time for a new p/s. *Luckily, the service I received was second to none and it was replaced quickly. *Apparently having the second p/s fail (especially of commercial design) was just plain bad luck and the folks I dealt with were genuinely surprised/amazed. *Watch this space...

    Non-Standard Tip - To be fair to Isomac, this one is more a "dealer judgement error" than a machine fault.... I originally received the Mondiale with a restricted two holed tip on the end (maybe the dealer thought I couldnt be trusted with a higher powered tip?) *It wasnt until a fellow CS came by my home, saw the second tip and asked, "What is that for?" that the epiphany struck. *Wow! *To call it a dramatic improvement (over what was already pretty impressive steaming performance) is an understatement.

    Other comments?

    At the risk of sounding like a victim of "Wand Envy", insulated steam and water wands (as found on many of the other high end machines) would have been the icing on the cake. *But Ive learned to take it in my stride and, on balance, come to appreciate the the benefits of the toggle controls (which, to my preference, provide a greater benefit when cracking out the espressi). *Ill put my wand aspirations on a "keeping my cake and eating it too" wish list in case Mr Isomac ever reads this forum *;)

    Any regrets? *No. *None. *Nada. *Zilch. *Zip.

    Cheers,

    -Alchemist-

    Footnote: Despite what appear to be speakers on the side, I still cannot find the MP3 jack anywhere....

  21. #21
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,101

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    My wife and I fell in love with this machine and all its features it not only looks good but most importantly it makes the coffee making process a breeze

    Firstly, the machine... Bezzera Domus Galatea
    (Information & specs from maker’s website)

    Retro Italian Styling
    Premium craftsmanship and quality
    Ability to Froth 1 Litre Jugs
    Stainless Steel Commercial Steam Arm & Water Spout
    Fully Flexible Steam & Water Arms
    Dual Boiler Probe System provides superior safety and greater thermal stability
    Eye Level Pressure Gauge
    Built-in Cup Warmer
    Boiler for Consistent Steam Flow
    Automatic Boiler Refilling
    Options Available
    Tank or
    Plumbed-In

    Specifications
    Power: V240 / 50-60Hz
    Heating Element: 1472Watts Tank: 4 Litres
    Water Connected: Rotary Pump
    Boiler: 2 Litres
    Single and Double Commercial Handles Net Weight: 22.7 kgs
    Dimensions: 360mmW x 455mmD x 450mmH *

    My Domus Galatea is the tank model.

    Things I Like

    Well made machine with a fantastic frame.
    Whole outer casing is removable in one piece
    E61 Group Head
    Commercial style knobs & steam equal to commercial machines will heat and micro foam milk in 5 seconds
    The 4 hole steam tip was a challenge at first now I love it
    360 Degree Ball Joints (Steaming and Water Wands)
    I like the lever for on off operation
    Low water automatic cut off
    Although the picture does not show it the wands now have burn protection rubber cocoons
    Can make lots of coffees in one go for guests no waiting means no complaints?

    Things I don’t like
    The machine operation is fantastic but to keep it looking good it takes a little effort however it’s worth it

    Other Comments
    It is a great talking point
    It will probably outlast me so it will be handed down to the kids upon my death :)



  22. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    1

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Brand/Model: Jura Ena 5.

    Price: $1295

    PROS:
    1. Quick and easy to clean.
    2. Ability to use coffee beans or pre-ground coffee.
    3. Easy to use.
    4. Good temperature, also adjustable.
    5. Great value for money.
    6. Great for making a variety of coffee or even hot chocolates.
    7. No compartment to store milk. This is actually a pro because the milk doesnt get warm and clog the pipes or machine parts.
    8. Compact size. Much smaller in size than many other fancy coffee machines that claim to do the same thing.

    CONS:
    1. Would be good if milk could be a little warmer.
    2. Inclusions of recipes in the manual would be great too. Plenty on their website though.
    3. Would have been nice to include other frother attachments in box.

    We compared many coffee machines before deciding to buy this one. We read online review, spoke to demonstrators in store, compared prices, quality, ease of use and ease of cleaning. This machine by far is one of the best. Many of the other machines we considered buying before getting this one we had read various bad reviews about so we knew what to look out for. We considered buying a Saeco, Sunbeam, Krups or Delonghi before reading about Juras ENA model. Many of the other machines had issues such as water or milk causing issues inside the machine, or lack of good technical support or difficult and time-consuming to clean.

    We just wanted a machine that was easy to use, quick to clean and made great tasting coffee that wasnt luke-warm (like many others were).

    PROS EXPLAINED:
    1. Quick and easy to clean. Most other machines are time consuming and difficult to clean. With this machine you only have to remove the trays from the front and rinse occasionally. The machine also tells you when a rinse is required. When to change water filters, etc. Creates little to no mess to clean up. The tray catches all excess milk or coffee spills.
    2. Ability to use coffee beans or pre-ground coffee. Also includes milk frothing.
    3. Easy to use. No complicated knobs or dials. We played around with various settings initially, but once getting the temperature, water level and various other settings how we prefer for most coffees we havent messed around with it much since. If you want a variety of different coffees types (latte, mocha, expresso, etc) at random times, then you might be changing settings more regularly.
    4. Good temperature. Not too hot, but also not warm. (temperature also adjustable).
    5. Great value for money. Not nearly as expensive as other machines that do the same thing and much easier to clean.
    6. Great for making coffee or hot chocolates. To make hot chocolates just use the milk steamer only. Might be worth pre-heating a cup of milk first and then adding steamed milk ontop for a hotter beverage.
    7. No compartment to store milk. This is actually a pro because the milk doesnt get warm and clog the pipes or machine parts. Just take your milk carton directly out of the fridge and place the tube provided between the steamer and carton. Once finished return the milk carton back to the fridge.
    8. High technical support. Though we have yet to use the technical support of Jura, we were informed by the sales person at the store we purchased it from that the company comes and collects the machine from you if there are any servicing issues. They collect and then return it back to you repaired at no extra cost.

    CONS EXPLAINED:
    1. It would be great if the milk could be hotter, but its not a big issue when the coffee temperature can be controlled.
    3. Its a shame they didnt include the alternative frother attachments in the box so we could play around with different settings, *but we may buy some of them later.

    An amazing coffee machine that is also considerably lower in cost than many others that do the same thing. We have had the machine for a month now and it makes a perfect coffee every time. Cleaning is a breeze and operation is straight forward. Its was exactly what we were looking for.


  23. #23
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    49

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Izzo Alex Duetto (Twin Boiler E61 Espresso Machine)

    Availability - about a week for first 10 (being built now, I have only one at the moment)

    Availability Australia (dont know, I suppose as soon as a distributor contacts Gruppo Izzo?)

    (Click for larger image)



    Specifications
    Height-Width - Depth: H420 x W360 x D430 mm
    Weight: 32 kg approx
    Voltage & Power (approx): 220 V-50Hz, 2550W max (1150W in steam off mode)...1450-1500W steam 1000W Brew 100-150W Pump
    Temperature control PID for Brew boiler (to solid state relay)
    Adjustable Pressurestat for Steam Boiler
    Water Tank : 2.4 litres, removable with low water sensor/or mains plumbed (switchable, simply move a lever behind drip tray)
    Twin Boilers 1.8 litre Steam/HW, 0.8 litre dedicated brew boiler (can be switched on off independently)
    Pump Type: Commercial Rotary Pump
    Group Head: 1 (E61 type), *(manual lever action)
    2 Filter Handle(s ) for 1 or 2 cups, Internal Diameter 58 mm, removable drip tray, cup warmer
    Construction/Finish: Heavy Gauge Polished Stainless Steel case and internal frame
    Water/Steam Ball joint mounted, not cool *touch. Steam Boiler can be switched On/Off independently as required
    Boilers Copper with brass end brew boiler. Heavy gauge Copper steam/HW boiler
    2 Manometer Gauges: Measures Boiler & Brew pressure
    Brew Water Preheat Via Custom designed Heat Exchanger in Steam boiler to prevent overheating of brew water, only operates when steam boiler is switched on

    Comes with all fittings and drain assembly for proper plumbed operation. The Duetto can also be used on a standard (cheap) mains *timer, if times operation is desired. The group is a standard E61 group, so easy and cheap to maintain.

    Hope you get them soon in Aus *8-)

  24. #24
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    15,389

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Diadema Junior Extra
    Price Range: circa $2,850 at time of listing.

    Features:
    -3.0 Lt Water Reservoir.
    -2.0 Lt Copper Boiler.
    -1300W Element.
    -Heat Exchanger.
    -Brew and Boiler Pressure Gauges.
    -Genuine E61 Group Head (4.5Kg in weight).
    -Ball Jointed Steam and Hot Water Wands.
    -Large Capacity, Removable Drip Tray (Beautifully balanced and easily removed/replaced).
    -Indicator Lights for Power On and Heating Element On.
    -Electronic Automatic Boiler Level Control and Fill.
    -Weight Sensitive Safety Switch under Water Reservoir (Protects against nil water situation).
    *.....When operated, only the Red Power On will illuminate with all other power being disconnected.
    -Industrial Quality Narrow Band Pressurestat.
    -Internal Vibe Pump (Isolated from chassis to reduce noise and unnecessary vibration).
    -Small Water Softener Cartridge (Fitted to end of Pump Input Line - Can be regenerated).
    -Two 58mm Portafilters, one for Single Basket and one for Double Basket. Both have down-angled handles to simplify Dosing and Tamping.
    -Blind Filter for Back-flushing is included.
    -Group Cleaning Brush is also included.
    -Typical Plastic Tamper is also included - Better than nothing I spose ::)
    -Good Capacity Cup Storage Tray that is easily removed for Filling the Water Reservoir.
    -High Quality, Highly Polished Stainless Steel Panel-work that is faultlessly manufactured and fitted. No sharp edges here to catch the unwary... 8-) (Very reminiscent of early La Cimbali and Faema machines from some angles).
    -Dimensions: 420(H)x341(W)x457(D) (mm).
    -Weight: 25Kg (Dry).

    Notes:
    First Impressions...
    Purchased from long time CoffeeSnobs Sponsor, Cosmorex Coffee and in particular Attilio Sciannimanica, who assisted me at every stage of the selection and purchasing process lasting over several months. Im probably not the best client to have when it comes to buying something like this but Attilio was a thorough gentleman to deal with at every stage and an absolute professional when it came to assisting me with such a significant purchase. Thank you very much Attilio 8-)...

    A couple of days after payment was completed, my new Toys arrived at home via TNT Couriers (no marks, scratches or other signs of handling damage on the packaging). Had to help the courier driver to carry the palletised cartons which included a new grinder too; it wasnt light. No doubt the attention paid to the method of packaging ensured that everything arrived in good condition. Everything was very solidly banded to the the pallet and then heavily wrapped in thin plastic sheet. No water (or anything else) was going to get in and damage these beauties ;)...

    OK, the time had come to bring these babies out into the light of day, so with the assistance of my son Ian, we set about breaking the packaging down and carefully removed both items into our kitchen and on to the benchtop. After removing the Protective Coating from the stainless steel panels, everything was given a good wipe down with a decent microfibre cloth and as you can see from the photo below, my new baby fairly gleams. Ian has already nick-named the DJE - DeLorean (after the same model of car used in the "Back to the Future" movie series)... Im not sure if thats going to be the name that sticks but the all stainless steel outer skin probably has something to do with it ;).

    I havent had a lot of time to play with DeLorean just yet as Ive been putting together a new PC and Home Network. I guess you could question my priorities but without the PC, Network and Internet Gateway there is just no way that I can gain access to CoffeeSnobs, so even my new toys had to take a back seat to that prerogative. Anyway, after the essential photo session was completed, it was all hands back to DeLorean to move her into the space cleared for her permanent new home. After filling her Water Reservoir, she was powered up and immediately went into Boiler Fill Mode; the Automation taking care of all that and then stopping once the correct level was reached. Topped up the Reservoir again, fitted the Double Filter into the Single Spout Portafilter (thats all we drink around here) and lightly locked it into the Group while we waited for the temperature to reach equilibrium. Just to make sure, decided to wait an hour or so for this to occur....

    A bit over an hour had gone past so it was time to put the DJE to the test. Rather than use my trusty LSM grinder, decided to use my new Macap M4 while Im at it. Because Ian works Afternoon Shift and it was only about 1/2 an hour before he had to head off to work, it was behooving of me to get things sorted out quite quickly. Well, I neednt have worried.... After a very short "cooling flush" and within three shots, I had her dialled in as close to perfection as counts, with the fourth shot a beautiful, creamy and syrupy pour full of long, thick and dark red stripes. I just couldnt help myself, this one was mine ;D. Down the hatch it went - *Absolutely beautiful 8-)... Without doubt, the sweetest and most viscous espresso Ive ever had (even compared to my Bezzera), coupled with nicely balanced acidity, lots of soft spice (cardamom, cinnamon, hint of cloves), dried fruitiness, some caramel and a ripper dark chocolate finish. Anyway, I had to get a move on now as Ian was starting to hover in the kitchen so the next shot (in a Latte) was his.

    This shot was identical to the first and while it was pouring I started on the milk. The ball-jointed wand makes this a simple task, getting the angle of the wand just right, was almost childs play. Within a very short time (maybe 12-15 seconds or so) I had the milk textured to a beautiful polished microfoam and ready to go before the shot had even finished pouring. Glanced over the cup (or mug in this case) and stopped the shot at the first hint of blonding as always. Added the milk (no art-work Im afraid, dont have a clue or the skills for this side of things) and handed over to number two son, who was getting a bit toey by this stage ;D... Waited for him to have a few sips and then got the big thumbs up [smiley=thumbsup.gif]. Ians my harshest critic where coffee is concerned and if it wasnt up to par, he has absolutely no qualms about telling me so. He was also of the opinion that this brew from DeLorean(get it right Dad) beat every other coffee Ive ever made for him.... And, thats saying something.

    Havent had a lot of free time to do much more playing around but Ive placed some orders for coffee from a couple of our Site Sponsors (whose coffee I really enjoy as much as my own :P) and once this arrives, Ill do some more in-depth testing of my lovely Diadema and then report back here.

    So, what are my first impressions? Does this machine live up to all my expectations? Was the purchasing experience a pleasant one? Would I recommend others to try their hands at a Diadema Espresso Machine. Yes, yes and yes!! I cant wait to have some time available so that I can put in some serious experimentation with blends and technique adjustments. If youre the sort of person who demands quality by every yardstick, insists on equipment that has been built to the highest possible standards and then delivered to your doorstep ready to perform and meet or exceed all expectations of delivering some of the best coffee youre ever likely to savour, then this machine or one of its siblings is definitely for you.

    Straight out of the box, the DJE has performed flawlessly. Its not a specially prepared unit "just for me" either. As Attilio has mentioned several times in other sections, all Diadema equipment is manufactured and bench-tested according to CosmoreX Coffees manufacturing specification, prior to shipping from the BFC factory. Although Attilio and/or his staff will normally bench-test every machine before shipping to its new owner, just as a double-check that everything is within specification, this machine has NOT been so tested. I wanted to see how true that statement of Attilios is. I spose if there was something not quite perfect, then I could argue that the Brew Pressure was roughly 1.0 BAR high, according to the gauge. Not a big deal when you consider that this is NOT a tweaked machine. Coupled with the fact that almost no cooling flush is required before pulling a shot, this really is a machine that you can just walk up to and pull the perfect espresso, providing you do your part and use high quality, freshly roasted beans of course ;-) .

    As you can no doubt appreciate, I considered all of the higher specified equipment thats on offer from our Site Sponsors, such as the new Giotto PP, the VBM Domobar Super, the Bezzera Domus Gallatea, the Isomac Mondiale et al but in the end, this particular Diadema was the only machine that ticked all the boxes for me. All Diadema equipment is built to the same high standards of quality in all areas, so if this machine isnt quite what you need, Im sure that there will be another model that will be close to perfect for you. As has been written quite frequently on these pages, a lot of the critical factors for many people comes down to purely subjective items but for me, if something doesnt perform to the highest levels first, then subjectivity isnt going to make up for any shortfalls. These machines definitely need to be on your short-list of any future equipment purchase.... Go and have a look, and a play if possible; you will be most impressed; as I was 8-).

    Cheers,
    Mal.






  25. #25
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Ok...here goes...

    This machine was purchased by my boss/friend for us to be able to do small local functions. It was recommended to us by Chris at Talk Coffee (as that is who I dealt with when my boss said lets get a machine!) as in his opinion it would be the most robust machine for this sort of thing. Moving a machine around in various vehicles (and Im not going to go into the hows of how we do things like that out here, so as to avoid previous similar discussion on this topic. If you need to know more, please PM me! *;)) and then lugging them into function set ups requires a machine that can take a bump or two. The Iberital is one such machine.

    Since weve had it (coming up to 12 months I guess now) it has done quite a few outdoor functions, a couple of indoor functions, has been my bosss home machine and our back up work machine when the others fell over.

    Last year we did a Relay for Life in our town and the Little Anna churned out 270 coffees and hot chocolates in 18 hours. Which was pretty good for a relay of about 400 people. So, it really proved itself to us at that function.

    Since then, Little Anna (as I like to call her!) has had to stand in and be back up machine to the big Expobar we borrowed as that machine was having water issues (which I subsequently discovered was no fault of the Expobar.) During this period, the Little Anna had to have done a day or two worth of coffees in our shop which can mean anything up to 120 coffees and hot drinks in a day. Not bad really for a little machine!

    As it is not plumbed in you have to fill up the tank but as its conveniently located at the front of the machine, near to where youre working, it is an easy task. We just use bottled water as its easy to pour from (big 2 litre bottles that is.) So, when I do a function, I just take a crate of water with me. You can either sight the water level or if youre busy with coffee making, Little Anna lets you know that the water level in the tank is low by flashing all her leds at you and by not allowing you to draw more water off the boiler. Good safety there I think. In my process, Ive just taught myself to fill the tank when Im not making coffee so as to make sure that Im not going to run out. On the one or two occassions it has happened, Ive just had to stop and quickly fill. Its not something that takes a whole lot of time really.

    The Little Anna probably has the best steam Ive seen on any machine too! I know big claim and the only other machine that Id say had better was my Silvia at home. But really, this machine produces the nicest driest and strongest steam Ive seen. Its probably one of the things that impresses us the most.

    Downers are few on this one. I sometimes find that the touch pad will activate again if Ive not pressed the stop properly. I like to use the manual button and not the volumetrics much. I think my boss does the same. So, if Ive hit the button a bit too lightly or too hard it might actually start again. Its no biggy and doesnt happen to me all that often if at all during use.

    Another is that it does seem a bit cramped under the group but you can still get 12 oz takeaways under it no worries. Of course, we live in the land of the large out here so our 16ozs are never going to get under Annas group! But thats ok because there are ways around that too.

    Finally, the only other hassle with it would be emptying the drip tray but again, its a minor thing that you have to put up with in regards to having a portable machine. Im betting that a smarter person than me could make a small mod to allow it to drain itself but for us, it would just mean more set up and more gear to have to cart around.

    When we do functions, we pair the Little Anna up with the Mazzer Mini (yes Dennis, that one! ;)) and it does seem to be a great pairing to me. If I was doing a really big function, like the Relay for Life again, Id probably consider taking the Mazzer SJ instead but I never found that with the Mini I was overworking it anyway. The SJ is just a bit quicker to grind than the Mini is all.

    Well, thats all I can think of for now. This really is a gem of a machine, it doesnt look too bad, (though dont get me started on machine looks because its one of my big gripes with them! ) and of course, produces a great cup of coffee and steams milk impressively. What more could you need?? :)


    Little Anna at Relay for Life



    Stacked up beside the Expobar...(my THREE group set up! *;D)


    Out in the Garden...


    P.S...Id just like to add, that being left handed means I get to put the grinder where I want it! ;) :D ;D (incase you were wondering...)

  26. #26
    Senior Member Luke_G's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Location
    Northen Rivers
    Posts
    660

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    DALLA CORTE MINI:

    The machine its self is a pearler to look at! Semi polished stainless steel and with carbon fiber group cover. Size wise it is a bit smaller than a ECM Giotto, around the same size as a VBM maybe from memory?

    If space is a problem in your kitchen and your thinking about upgrading from a Silvia/ Gaggia/ Sunbeam but are not sure the Giotto or similar will fit then this is a good alternative.

    So coming from a barista background i am always hesitant to buy another home machine but this time i have nailed it!!!! It performs as well as the full commercial machine at work and to be honest, I can barely fault the Dalla Corte! I am over the moon with its performance and i dont regret my purchase at all...though my partner might think differently when she gets back from south America *

    Cons..

    * The depth of the basket makes ejecting the spent puck a challenge at times.
    * Tiny filling hole for the internal water supply, about the size of a 10c coin wich makes filling it a disassemble job having to put the top tray off and pulling the jug out.
    * The steam arm could be more flexable, It barely reaches the corner edge of the drip tray in order to expell any water build up.
    * The hight of the group inside the head makes wiping the seal a little more difficult than say a Gaggia or Sunbeam.
    * The hight of the group head in relation to the drip tray may not be high enough to fit a mug. Not a problem for me but it might be for some?
    * Price! It retails for around $3800. Worth it? I think so if its not going to break the bank!
    * The look? Some might say its like that dog you had when you were young... The most obedient but kinda funny looking!

    PROs..

    * Dark colored plastic drip tray. A little cheap? yes! But there will never be an issue with corrosion or stains and its large and east to remove and clean.
    * Warm up time is a lot shorter than expected. I would contribute this to the dual boilers.
    * Large water supply to keep you from having to pull it out often.
    * Commercial quality extraction of espresso.
    * Steam is a plenty, im able to stretch enough milk for 2 6 ounce cups in well under the time it takes to pull the shots!
    * Brew Temp nob for quickly adjusting the brew temp for lighter darker roasts. Temps change fairly quickly.
    * The look?!?!?! I love it personally.

    Good machine with love it or hate looks 8-)


  27. #27
    Senior Member Coffee2Di4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ipswich, QLD
    Posts
    1,472

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Well, the machine (aka LeLit Combi, Nemox Dell Opera, Mokita Combi) arrived from CaffeineJunky today and what a little beauty!!!

    Im just sipping my first latte from it (actually, I just finished it off, so must go and make another) and it tastes just as good as the coffees from my Maver HX and Macap M5 Grinder combo...Im extremely impressed!!!

    A little more fiddling around between steam and shot, I have to admit, but - on the plus side - it is a lot quicker to warm up.

    A list of my pros and cons:-

    PROs

    • *An integrated unit (could also be a con if something went wrong) but nice and compact on the bench;
    • *Lux burr grinder, so a great grinder for the price;
    • *Steams like a demon and very easy to microfoam on;
    • *Easy clean up.


    CONs

    • *The drip/drop trays are a bit insubstantial feeling; and
    • *The steam wand is fairly short on not on a ball joint.


    Overall, though, the pros definitely outweigh the cons.

    Sincerely rethinking whether I keep the QNII at home and take my separate combo into work instead. The only downside to this would be that, if anyone breaks my combo, its a lot more expensive to replace and, being completely honest, when I go to sell it to fund my Izzo Alex upgrade, I want as few hands on it as possible to keep it in a pristine condition.

    A very happy little camper, though, particularly for the price point!

    Thanks, once again, CJ - its gone to a good home! * :-*

    If anyone is contemplating a new one, they definitely have my high recommendation, particularly for a newby - they can be purchased new from Chris at Talk Coffee (Melbourne) or Dennis at Cuppacoffee (Sydney), give them a call and, if youre local to them, go check one out!

    Cheers
    Di

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Brisbane, Queensland, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    1,756

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Rocket Espresso - Giotto Premium Plus
    Price range: retail around 3k (i cant say what i payed ;D, thanks Serge ;))

    Features: All from talk coffee website
    -Heat Exchanger
    -1.8lt boiler
    -2.9lt internal water tank
    -230v 50Hz
    -1300w
    -dimensions 330 x 420.5 x 350 mm
    -weight 23kg

    Dual pre-infusion system: mechanical pre-infusion system
    with progressively working piston and static pre-infusion
    chamber.

    Boiler is made of pure copper (Cu. 99.9%) with a lead
    free, heavy brass end plate to increase the thermal
    retention and the steam power by approximately 40%
    versus other boiler systems. Boiler is nickel plated for
    protection against copper oxidation.

    Superior layout of thermosyphon system resulting in
    optimum extraction. Generously dimensioned with 20% higher
    volume as with comparable machines on the market.

    Microprocessor controlled automatic level control of boiler
    and fresh water reservoir, with low water level indication
    warning system.

    Cool touch steam and water wands.

    Commercial rated Sirai Pressurestat and Fully Certified commercial safety valve.


    My Experiences......
    Ive had my GPP for coming up on a year now with no regrets whatsoever. I love this machine and don’t see myself upgrading for a very long time, that was why i bought it, and im over the moon that i still feel like this....so is my fiancé I had a laugh
    Prior to this i had a Silvia/Rocky combo. I sent an email out to all the sponsors asking for advice on purchasing a machine that would meet my requirements, which were to be able to brew and steam at the same time and be able to produce espresso based milk drinks back to back without a hickup.
    GoBarista came to the call with a GPP/Best chrome grinder combo that i could not refuse.

    Straight up it took only a few shots to dial in the grinder, and i was producing the best shots i had certainly ever made myself.

    From the start.....So as i opened the box i noticed how well it was packaged, nothing was getting hurt inside that box!

    Serge from Gobarista had unpacked it and bench tested it prior to me picking it up late one friday afternoon, the machine was spotless, it comes with the two group handles single and double which are heavy solid brass, with single and double baskets as well as a blind basket for back flushing, and an amazing plastic tamper! greg pullman should look into this wonderful product!.....plastic! hmmmmmmm, oh and a Group Cleaning Brush is also included.

    Followed the instructions for first start up procedure as id never played with a HX before......fortunately i had to go out, which allowed the machine to fully heat up whilst i was out. Came home unpacked the grinder, which looked great although a little small for my liking....and stepped, but thats another issue ::) Produced what i would imagine to be an acceptable grind, dosed, tamped(unaware of the dosing required) tried to lock in the group handle....no go(coming from Silvia)dosed lower and locked and loaded, hit the brew, too fast. Ground again, all good, beautiful syrupy goodness!

    The first thing i noticed about the shot was the delay between hiting the lever and the first drip.....welcome to pre-infusion for me!, i also noticed the delivery of the shot was smoother, more consistent than with the Silvia. And the early blonding, even with the PID on the Silvia was all but gone.....the shot tasted amazing....

    PROS
    -The ability to produce simply the best coffee ive ever tasted full stop.
    -The GPP steams milk to perfection, up to around 600ml of actual milk with ease, and recovers very quickly, faster than i can operate. The wand offers plenty of movement for jugs up to 1lt and the cooltouch is a great addition.
    -The exterior finish is spectacular, easy to keep clean and does not tarnish or scratch with cleaning unlike some polished stainless, styling is timeless.
    -Water Tank is easily accessible and the boiler is fed from the bottom so no hoses to deal with.
    -Machine is very very sturdy due to the new bigger feet with rubber bottoms, never moves when locking in.




    CONS
    -Straight out of the box, some of the nuts and bolts that hold the outer skin on the GPP were loose, resulting in a very noisy machine, i have since tightened them but they have worked loose, so ill use some blue locktite to stop this when the warrantee runs out.
    -Had to turn the pressurestat down a bit, as it was running a little hot out of the box.
    -Drip tray does not align perfectly with machine without some manipulation. And i personally would prefer a more scratch resistant drip tray, like the Della Corte Mini.
    -Manometer fogs up with steam when backflushing due to the hot water exiting out the 3 way valve, possibly causing moisture build up in the guage...could cause problems down the track......i dont know?
    -Power light loose out of the box, and still is.
    -Steam and hot water wand taps squeaky until i applied food grade lube to brass threads.
    -Powder coated metal frame will be prone to rust in time, just from the drip tray being removed and replaced, its already warn the powder coating away exposing bare metal.

    CONCLUSION
    Would i buy this machine again.....without a doubt! Wouldn’t swap it for anything in the same price bracket.

    I have since sold the ECA best chrome grinder and picked up a Mazzer Super Jolly from 9bar second hand near new for $500 which changed the shot characteristics drastically, one metric tonne more chocolate and body, and stepless adjustment! id love to try a Kony-e on the GPP though........um Mal, when are you coming to brissie again?
    ::)

    If any brisbanites wanna demo, id be more than happy to give you one, you can have a play and see what you think before spending 3k on some stainless!


    Cheers
    Warren



  29. #29
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,676

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Quote Originally Posted by 1B1F392020253A2D224C0 link=1163234999/29#29 date=1271959671
    My Experiences......
    Ive had my GPP for coming up on a year now with no regrets whatsoever. I love this machine and don’t see myself upgrading for a very long time
    Great report Warren. Im also about to mark 1 year of GPP ownership and I cant see myself upgrading either. I wouldnt hesitate recommending one to anyone and would even go further to say that anyone considering buying a sub-2K machine should seriously consider upping their budget and buying a Giotto. You wont be sorry.

    I bought mine from Talk Coffee / Cuppacoffee and, yes, the price I was quoted definitely made it a deal-maker but having owned it, I would have happily paid more.

    I havent experienced loose screws or power lights or out-of-alignment drip trays. I know Chris from Talk Coffee thoroughly checks all his machines prior to dispatch.

    I also havent noticed the fogging of the manometer during backflush. Not saying it doesnt happen, just something I havent paid attention to.

    I have noticed the scratching of the frame caused by the drip tray but no rusting. A mod I would perhaps recommend to GPP owners is a strip of duct tape on the frame where the drip tray sits to help protect it a bit more.

    The drip tray will inevitably get scratched unless you use rubber based cups. Not that much of an issue for me.

    I have my machine sitting under a kitchen cupboard so I have to tilt the water tank to be able to replace it. This means I cant fill the tank completely before replacing; I 2/3 fill it then top it up using a jug. If Im not very careful, water can spill down the sides and sit under the tank. This has caused one of the screws that secure the water tank chamber to the frame to rust. Not a big problem - I removed the screw cleaned it up and sprayed it with water-displacement spray (similar to WD-40) and try to be more careful with the water jug.

    I also suffered from squeaky valve syndrome (the steam valve) but I dropped it off at Cuppacoffee a couple of weeks ago for a de-scale and maintenance while still under warranty and Den fixed the squeak.

    Warren didnt (quite) mention the best feature of the GPP: its forgivingness. Ive poured gushers that have still come quite drinkable whereas I had to be much more careful with my previous machine.

    And the steam wand: steaming milk is a breeze. I dont have to hold the jug; just sit it on the drip tray and move the (cool touch) steam wand as required. I just feel the jug until I judge the right temp has been reached.

    Im happy with the Mazzer Mini as a grinder and Ill try to keep it that way for a while longer but I wish all those large conical grinder owners would shut up *;) *;D

  30. #30
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Rocket Espresso Giotto Evoluzione
    Price Range: RRP circa $3.85k via ECA dealer network

    Features: *
    - Heat Exchanger, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout,
    - teflon lined cool touch wands
    - Lever operated e-61 group as per Giotto, etc *
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - tank or plumb in via switch
    - 1.8L boiler
    - internal rotary pump with tank or plumbed operation

    Discussion thread

    Further information and .pdf file

    Notes: The Evoluzione takes over form the Giotto Professional as the flagship of the Rocket range.

  31. #31
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Izzo Alex Duetto II
    Price Range: RRP circa $4.2k Talk Coffee, Cuppacoffee, Di Bartoli and Coffee Roasters Australia

    Features: *
    - Dual boiler and PID to both boilers, *
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout
    - Lever operated e-61 group*
    - 58mm portafilters, *
    - tank or plumb in via switch
    - 1.8L brew boiler; 0.8L steam boiler
    - internal rotary pump with tank or plumbed operation

    Discussion thread

    Further information and .pdf file

    Notes: Dual boiler and plumbed rotary pump operation is rare. The only similar machine I can think of is the LaMarzocco GS/3

  32. #32
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Izzo Nuova Pompeii PID lever
    Price Range: RRP circa €5k 1 group (approx $7200 with 50% deposit and 6 week lead time) Talk Coffee

    Features: *
    - Available in 1-3 group configuration in red, white and black
    - PID lever machine with 5L boiler (1 group)
    - simultaneous brew and steam, *
    - hot water spout
    - Lever operated group*
    - 53mm portafilters, *
    - plumb in- requires pump and motor if mains pressure < 3bar
    - 5L brew boiler
    - BIG machine wxdxh: 50x50x60cm

    Notes: The flagship lever machine from the Izzo range

  33. #33
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: GEE espresso machine
    Price Range: RRP circa $940 Talk Coffee, Cuppacoffee, 9bar

    Features: *
    - boiler and thermoblock*
    - 1 deg control of brew temperature
    - switch from brew straight to steam
    - hot water via steam wand
    - electronic control*
    - 58mm portafilters- offset lugs, *
    - water level visible in tank
    - 0.5L brew boiler and thermoblock for steam
    - internal rotary pump with tank or plumbed operation

    Discussion thread

    Further information and .pdf file

    Notes: Excellent competitor to a PID Silvia with more convenient operation

  34. #34
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,667

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: LaSpaziale mini Vivaldi II
    Price Range: RRP $2899 Talk Coffee, Cuppacoffee

    Features: *
    -Dual boiler: 1.2L steam 1250W and 0.45L brew 800W with priority to brew boiler
    -NEW .9 mm steam tip- ball jointed stainless steel steam wand
    -Two 53 mm group handles: 1 x single, 1 x double
    -3L water tank
    -Vibration pump (extremely quiet)
    -Volumetric dosing via touch pad with manual override 1 deg. C group temperature indicated by LED display
    -Electronic boiler refill
    -Built-in safety thermostat
    -Built-in safety cutout on vibe pump
    -Semiautomatic hot water delivery
    -Lever steam valve same as La Spaziale S5 commercial machines.
    -Fault diagnosis alarms
    -Dual pressure gauge
    -Colours- black or red
    -240V 10A

    Discussion thread

    Further information and .pdf file

    Notes: Dual boiler temperature controlled volumetric machine at circa Minore III pricing

  35. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    266

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Isomac TEA II (e-61 heat-exchanger)
    Price Range: $2250
    Features: 1.4L stainless steel boiler, brew and steam pressure gauges, cool touch steam & hot water wands, 1400W element, large drip tray, stainless steel

    Bought on 17/3/2010. Since day 1 my Isomac TEA has been performing flawlessly, i have not had to make any adjustments at all and i cant see myself upgrading any time soon. After the initial 15-20 min heat up shots run at a steady 94 degrees (excellent). Steam performance is great from either the four hole tip it comes with or the optional 2 hole tip which is perfect for steaming a tiny amount of milk eg. for one piccolo latte.

    I often have groups of around 6 family members over and pumping out 12 milk based drinks (2 each!) is no problem at all as youd expect.

    Fit and finish are top notch (much better than some other e-61 machines i looked at). Overall very happy.


  36. #36
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    53

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    GEE ESPRESSO MACHINE REVIEW

    GEE Espresso Machine *RRP $940
    Equipment provided by Talk Coffee
    Review Date: *2 October 2010

    Reviewer: *Robin Yong (CS name ‘Faddy’)

    Unboxing the GEE - what’s included
    • GEE Espresso Machine
    • Portafilter with a single and double filter basket
    • Blind filter
    • Plastic tamper


    Box of [s]Glee[/s] GEE


    GEE Espresso Machine from the front. A clean, simple and minimalist front. *I have to say though, that the machine’s exterior build quality doesn’t feel as ‘solid’ as compared to the Rancilio Silvia. *


    Drip tray is sufficient in size. *Easy to remove and clean.


    Here’s what’s included – the expected single, double and blind filters. And what’s that * :o– a plastic tamper that actually looks like a tamper!

    Pulling some shots
    Let me try to explain how the GEE works. *The GEE tries to make it as simple for the user as possible to pull shots by incorporating a timer system. *The concept is this: *Give the user two presets – 1 cup and 2 cup options. *The timer on the 1 cup preset has a longer time duration compared to the timer on the 2 cup preset. *Longer time duration equals longer time the pump is switched on equals more volume of water pushed through. *After you select your 1 cup / 2 cup option, the timer starts and once the set time (say 25 seconds) has been reached, it shuts the pump off and your extraction stops. *

    You can quite easily adjust the timer in the settings. *I had to increase the set times as the factory settings weren’t quite long enough. Furthermore, if you set a longer time, you can always have the option of manually stopping the extraction when you feel the need to do so. *

    On the flip side of things, I can see how this function is helpful for a beginner trying to make sure they keep their total shot time under say 25 to 30 seconds, while they explore other variables such as grind settings, tamping pressure, different beans, extraction temperature, etc. *However, I think I speak for many fellow CoffeeSnobbers that we would prefer to be in control and manually stopping the pour when we want to! *

    First shot
    I ground up some of the Shed Shandy blend provided from Talk Coffee through a Rancilio Rocky into the double basket and locked it in. *I selected the ‘1 cup’ setting and waited. *It ‘pre-infused’ for a few seconds before extraction started and before I knew it, that was it! *It seems like the factory default settings on the 1 cup timings were too short! *I barely even extracted a ristretto! *

    Second shot
    I then tried pulling another shot, this time adjusting my grinder a touch finer and selecting the ‘2 cup’ setting (for a longer total ‘brewing time’, again so I can manually shut the pump when I want). *When the brew cycle started – preinfusion again, then brew pressure but this time, I manually stopped it at around the 32 second mark. *Not a bad pour but my shot still seemed to blonde a tad quickly. *A quick taste test and it was a bit under extracted. * We’re almost there, I can feel it, or rather taste it!

    Third shot
    Tried one more time, adjusted the grind another touch finer again to hopefully produce an even tighter pour. *I removed the preinfusion function in the settings as I didn’t like the way it blasted water into the coffee before applying brew pressure.

    Success – the pour looked good. *Extraction time closer to 40 seconds but that’s okay, it all looks and tastes fantastic. *Chocolate and nut notes were more pronounced in this shot.


    First few shots through the GEE. *Trying to get the shot a little tighter. You can see its pretty capable of producing a nice thick dark and rich crema.


    Another shot. *This time without the pre-infusion pulled a bit tighter.


    Decent double ristretto as a base for a flat white. *Had a sip and I was quite surprised – smooth mouthfeel, medium acidity with notes of chocolate and nut. *The coffee used was Talk Coffee’s Shed Shandy roasted 29 September 2010 which was still a little fresh but definitely very drinkable.

    Milk
    To get the GEE’s steam function ready is pretty easy. *All you need to do is to turn the right knob (no, seriously the knob on the right hand side) and select “Steam”. *The LCD then displays “Steam ready” when the GEE is ready for us to start texturing some milk. *Its all pretty quick – under 1 minute for the GEE to change from brew temperature to steam temperature.

    Purging the steam wand is essential as there is a bit of moisture. *After that, the steam is fairly dry and powerful.

    I got out my 350ml milk jug and started texturing without much problem. *Its surprisingly easy to get microfoam and the pressure seemed to hold until the end.


    The steam function of the GEE is quite comparable with the Silvia. *It starts off quite powerful so you need to be a bit careful as you texture. *

    The result - milk appeared to have a smooth and shiny texture and I even poured a decent rosetta on my first go on the machine! *GEE, that’s not bad huh?


    Summary

    Pros
    • Easy to use with the LCD
    • PID – temperature read out simplifies things and there is no need to ‘temperature surf’ or guess
    • LCD display tells you when the steam is ready
    • Ability to change brew temperatures
    • Good steam pressure for a small milk jug

    Cons
    • Unit’s exterior not as solid as the Silvia
    • Preinfusion function is not true preinfusion (as you would expect on a machine that’s not plumbed in). *Personally, I think blasting water on the coffee and letting it ‘preinfuse’ for a few seconds does more damage than good. *It can promote channelling especially if your distribution and tamping techniques aren’t solid.
    • Steam pressure gets pretty weak if you’re doing anything more than 2 cups at one go


    Call me shallow but if I could change anything I wanted in the GEE, it would have to be the name! *GEE what a name! *GEE what a shallow reviewer – its just a name! *Otherwise, this is one solid machine and for under $1k, the simplicity and performance would be a tough one to beat.

  37. #37
    Site Sponsor Di_Bartoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    647 Botany Road, Rosebery, NSW 2018
    Posts
    880

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. NO DISCUSSIONS

    Machine Name: Di Bartoli Medea E61
    Manufacture: Bezzera
    Price Range: $2449.00


    Di Bartoli Medea E61_Espresso Machine is the newest addition to our range. Manufactured by Bezzera and sold exclusively by Di Bartoli in Australia. This E61 group head Heat Exchange machine represents the best value machine in our range, with commercial orientation of internals, great stainless steel quality and finish , and is priced to fly!
    The Di Bartoli Medea Features the following:

    • *2 L boiler and 1400w element
    • *2 gauges: one for steam pressure and one for pump pressure
    • *4 L tank with lever sense on the side, water tank has an inlet to the boiler at the bottom of
    * the machine (less possibility of air inside the water pipes)
    • *E61 Group head design with a thermosyphon system to regulate brewing water
    * temperature
    • *Body in stainless steel AISI 304 polish
    • *Adjustable Over Pressure Valve to allow change in pump pressure in the machine
    • *Copper pipes for extra durability and longevity
    • *Fully flexible, ball-joint steam arm & hot water wand
    • *Automatic boiler water supply
    • *Automatic low water cut out
    • *Dimensions: 32cm W x 42.7cm D x 41.50cm
    • *Net weight: 22.7kg
    • *Accessories: single & double handles, single & double filter baskets - plastic tamper -
    * coffee measuring spoon - blind filter- group head brush-user instructions

    Warranty: One year parts and labor warranty limited to manufacturers defect provided by Di Bartoli.

  38. #38
    Wega Mininova Classic Seeya_Latte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    66

    Wega Mininova Classic & Mazzer Mini-E

    Wega MiniNova Classic

    The building of a new house recently has afforded me the opportunity to factor into the build, an upgrade to a plumbed in HX.

    I eventually settled on the Wega and Mini-E combo from site sponsor Genovese here in Melb.

    A lot of CSs have been here before me and I guess its just par for the course, but a lot of factors come into play when choosing a machine....and for me it came down to just a few core requirements which I feel this machine meets.

    From all the machines that I tested in this range I found nearly all to be very capable units but because I needed the steam arm on the right (by default) I managed to narrow the field right down. Then it came down to serviceability, aesthetics, feel and of course budget.

    Ive got it set up in the butlers pantry, good because I have direct access to a sink for cleaning up and its away enough from the kids.

    Im very excited I must admit and Im looking forward to hours of fun with the new kit.

    Thanks to this site, I must admit I got some great ideas and contacts here!

    Seeya

  39. #39
    Senior Member Coffee2Di4's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Ipswich, QLD
    Posts
    1,472

    Re: Nuova Simonelli Musica

    NS Musica - Home User’s Review* ;)

    Nuova Simonelli Musica

    Price Range: ~$2,200 (Standard) / ~$2,380 (Lux)

    Technical Specifications:
    • Stainless steel body with black (Standard) or LED (Lux) trim
    • Efficient Heat Exchange system allows simultaneous extraction of coffee whilst steaming milk
    • Electronic Pre-Infusion System
    • Programmable volumetric dosing system (stores up to three different dose settings; can be turned on or off)
    • Separate hot water arm
    • Swivel steam wand
    • Professional filter holder
    • Visible pressure gauge
    • Adjustable boiler pressure / temperature
    • Copper boiler, durable copper tubing, brass fittings, brass steam valve and chrome plated group head
    • Water level probe assists in maintaining proper water level in boiler
    • 3 litre water tank, which can be removed for ease of cleaning
    • Pump safety system automatically turns off pump when pump is activated for longer than 90 seconds
    • Direct water connection available

    Well, I have to say, after using this machine for two days now, I’m still over the moon with it. It really is a pleasure to use and I can attest to that after having around 12 coffees over the past two days – double my normal intake over a weekend!

    Pros
    • I love, love, love the steam switch, as opposed to the twist knob. It really makes it easy to steam milk and it’s such a bonus just flicking it off, as opposed to twisting it.* I really can’t express(o! Wink ) how much I love this feature of the machine and really think it would behove manufacturers to incorporate this into more home machines. I’m still scratching my head as to why they haven’t.
    • It steams milk about twice as fast as my Maver did, and about four times quicker than the 6910 did.
      I’m finding the four hole steam tip makes texturing the milk quite easy (the Maver and 6910 both only had a two hole tip) – probably the biggest thing to get used to is you stretch with the tip flatter rather than on an angle.
    • The water tank is very easy to refill - you can do it straight into the tank, rather than either having to pull it out or use a funnel as I did with the Maver.* The hole is big enough not to miss and spill water outside the tank.
    • Lock and load is quite easy for me –a bit easier than the normal configuration on the Maver and 6910.* It just seems to be more intuitive to get it in straight away, whereas I sometimes had trouble getting it right the first time in the Maver. It might be because the group head is recessed a bit, rather than being ‘out and proud’ on the Maver, so I’m less likely to just kerthunk it in and be a bit more careful with it because I don’t want to injure the Musica.
    • I don’t seem to have any problems with temperature at the group head on the Musica, and didn’t have on the Maver either, but this is possibly because my taste buds aren’t that sensitive to temperature differences.* I have not found it necessary to do a cooling flush beforehand, but the Maver was always outstanding in this regard, so I would say that are on par.
    • It’s nice and shiny and very easy to keep clean, with no real fiddly areas to get around, as there is with an E61.
    • I love the recessed cup warming/water tank area.
      Reasonably quiet pump in comparison to both the Maver and 6910 (definitely not silent, though and still makes a fair amount of noise, just not the same low masculine grumble that the Maver did – more of a feminine brrrrrr) and doesn’t vibrate anywhere near as much as the Maver did when the pump is on.
    • The drip tray, although a bit on the smaller capacity side than the Maver, has a hard plastic smooth base along the same lines as the 6910, so is easy to keep clean and just requires a wipe.* The top grill is robust, but thinner wire so also easy to just wipe off and keep clean.
    • Fairly robust construction so, whilst it looks along the sameish lines as the 6910 in that it has push buttons, etc the shell is definitely a lot better quality and build.


    Cons
    • The lights on the side are very bright. On one hand, this is great during the day, because we have quite a dark kitchen so it saves me having to put on the overhead light, but it does tend to be a little bit of overkill. Fortunately you can turn them off if you wish to and they have their own separate switch.* I thought there was a way to dim them in increments, but it turns out that you can only dim the keypad, not the side lights…bummer!
    • The hot water tap is very slow/light flowing, so it takes a little while to fill up a cup.* I only use the hot water to pre-warm my cups, so it’s not a real issue to me, but if someone wanted to use it for making a tea or long black, it could be a bit painful
    • Programming the shot doses and water length is quite easy, but programming the off/on for the pre-infusion and the dimming of the lights is a pain in the rump. Pete ended up working it out for me.
    • I seem to have a little leak under the drip tray that I suspect is because of the overflow valve. I’ll have Pete have a look at it next weekend with a view to fixing it - it will give us a chance to have a look at the guts, too, and see how robust it is on the inside. I just didn’t want him touching it this weekend (understandably!)

    That’s about it for the cons at this stage. A real joy to use and no regrets whatsoever.

    Cheers
    Di

    Discussion Thread Here... http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1274839714/81#72




  40. #40
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Info/Reviews of Espresso machines. No Discussions

    BFC Junior Extra PID Semi Commercial Espresso Machine

    PID controlled, dual boiler, semi commercial espresso machine;
    Boiler Capacities: 1.3 litre Steam & Hot Water / 0.8 litre Brew
    Water Connection: Nil
    Water Pump: Vibrating solenoid type.
    Fresh Water Tank: 3.0 litre
    Voltage: 240 Volt 50Hz
    Power Rating: 2 x 1300W elements switched separately, 10 amp circuit.
    Dimensions: 34cm Width x 46cm Depth x 42cm Height
    Approx. Weight: 26.5 kg

    Choice of modes:
    * ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** * Both boilers running with Brew boiler prioirity (standard operational mode)
    * ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** * ECO MODE switches machine to half power for low use or stand by;* ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** *
    * ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** * Ability to isolate to Brew Boiler only;
    * ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** * Ability to isolate to Steam Boiler only;
    * ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** * PID display shows boiler and group temperatures* ** ** *
    * ** ** ** ** ** ** ** ** * Steam & Water Line Pressure Gauges;* ** ** **
    * ** ** ** ** *
    Same top build quality, finish and performance as all our other BFC / Diadema machines.

    RRP $3300.00

    This machine is now in use as our professional roast cupping machine. It delivers.

    Canberra CSers are most welcome to come in for a look/play. View it in its place next to the roasting plant. Appointments are not necessary but could be a good idea* :)




  41. #41
    Wega Mininova Classic Seeya_Latte's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    66

    Re: Wega Mininova Classic & Mazzer Mini-E

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Quote Originally Posted by 435C5B58515651555A340 link=1163235000/40#40 date=1309425491
    Nice setup. Any feedback. Im thinking about the mini nova myself and would be grateful of your thoughts after few months of use. Thanks in advance. :)
    Thanks Wholebean, happy to help you if I can.

    As a man it took me the obligatory years of research and then went through the wooda-cooda-shoodas for a bit (don’t worry I do that with everything - TV, PC, Camera etc) but I am happy to say that so far I’m feeling good about my selection.

    I’m no engineer but the overall construction feels very solid and the stainless steel work is nicely finished.

    I have very simple quality barometers that tell me if things are ok…. like for instance removing & replacing the drip tray never leave me thinking ‘gee this is flimsy’ or ‘why doesn’t it line up’.

    We know about the importance and part played by all the usual variables (the coffee itself, grind, dose, tamp, flush etc), but the Wega itself is very capable.

    Having said that, at this level I would expect every machine to produce a true espresso (you’d be heartbroken if your couple of hard earned grand fell short of meeting this minimum requirement).

    Taming the steam is the big one – well for me it was. I got a 4 hole instead of the standard 5 hole and even that has taken me months to get on top of (believe me,* I was blowing balloons at the start!). My technique improved once I did a training session using the same machine at Genovese and along with experimenting with all sorts of milk, I now find there’s much more consistency in my output.

    I was also lucky enough to be able to plumb the machine in & have the drip tray drained ….both very convenient to have

    As I posted before, in my specific case I wanted to spend X amount, I needed the steam arm on the right and wanted it plumbed and then started the decision making process from there.

    Good luck and let me know if you need anything else.

    Seeya





Similar Threads

  1. Info/Reviews of Grinders - NO Discussions
    By Javaphile in forum Grinders
    Replies: 40
    Last Post: 13th February 2017, 01:17 PM
  2. Info/reviews of equipment: Destoners.
    By TC in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 4th December 2012, 08:46 PM
  3. Re: Re: Information/Reviews of Espresso machines
    By TC in forum Brewing Equipment - Midrange ($500-$1500)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th August 2007, 04:25 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •