coffeesnobs BeanBay
Roasted Coffee | Green Coffee | Tea Tisanes | Cocoa Chai | Snob Wear | Behmor Roaster | & Other Stuff

Thread: Diaphragm booster pump for plumbed in coffee machine

Diaphragm booster pump for plumbed in coffee machine

Cafelat Coffee Tamper and Accessories
    Hi, i have a cimbali junior, a plumbed in machine with a built in rotary pump (I think ). Connecting it to mains waterline is not a cost effective option at the moment so i resorted to running my beloved machine from a water tank with external diaphragm pump to produce positive head.

Is this an acceptable set up (ie pairing roatry pump with diaphragm pump?), i notice every time the diagphram pump kicks in during exctraction process, the pour volume increases temporarily, will this affect taste? Appreciate any comments on this. Many thanks

An unstable flow rate ( and by implication , pressure) cannot be ideal for the best extraction conditions.
    Maybe if you were using a lever group machine it would not be such a factor, but with your pump group, you might expect to notice some variation in shot quality.
    Have you considered putting a pressurized accumulator in the feed line to stabilize the pressure ?

Quote Originally Posted by blend52 View Post
    An unstable flow rate ( and by implication , pressure) cannot be ideal for the best extraction conditions.
    Maybe if you were using a lever group machine it would not be such a factor, but with your pump group, you might expect to notice some variation in shot quality.
    Have you considered putting a pressurized accumulator in the feed line to stabilize the pressure ?
    Thanks Blend52, appreciate if you can let me know where to get the pressurised accumulator? I pressume it is placed between booster pump and the machine water inlet

Any good plumb shop, ( Bombora ?),.. boat/caravan/RV supply store etc,.. should have them.
    Lots on ebay too.

Just ditch the diaphragm pump...