Thread: SAB Nobel

SAB Nobel

Hi Snobs,

I am very new to this but I have been reading your posts for a few years now. The main reason I am writing this is because I have been looking for a new machine to upgrade from my Rancilio Silvia, and one kept popping up in conversations with some roasters I know, the SAB Nobel. Now, I have looked on the internet for reviews or any comments on the machine but I have not been able to find any. So what did I do I just went out and bought one and I love it so I'm going to share.

I have to start and say I bought mine off of display and i didn't get that brand new open the box smell but who cares it doesn't affect the coffee. It also came with a bonus SAB Junior Grinder.

*Just a disclaimer, these specifications are what have been to told to me by wholesalers. I have not pulled the machine apart but when I do I will update the post if there is any discrepancies.

Machine: SAB Nobel (1GR Nobel Auto)
    Price: $1900-2300
    Type: Heat Exchange (2.5L Boiler) - (Some have said dual boiler, ill update when I pull it apart)
    Water Tank: 3L (Also can be plumbed in for both drain and water intake)
    Group Head Size: E61
    Modes: 4 Volumetric settings, 1 Manual button, Hot water outlet.

Here we go;
    What it comes with:
    - Machine
    - 2 Portafilters - One single and one double.
    - Single basket 7gm, Double 14gm and one Blind.
    - Braided water hose
    - Drain Hose

Construction:
    The Machine is well built, no sharp edges, nice and clean lines large LED backlit controls. The rep at the wholesalers that I went to, to talk about the machine said that the button print can sometimes rub off with extended use, but it is an easy swap of a part when it occurs.
    It is heavy which is expected. The buttons have a nice feel to them and the portafilter moves nicely into the 6 o'clock position in the group head.