Thread: Wega Mininova EVD Help Please

Wega Mininova EVD Help Please

Hi all,

I purchased a Wega Mininova recently as a non goer at a good price. I have spent a little time on it and made progress. I do have a question though.

When I arrived at work this morning (Monday, after the weekend), the machine was cold. At the moment, I feel that the mains water may be bypassing a valve or solenoid to cause an overfill situation that also cuts out the pressurestat.
    I will include my log of work done so far as it may help diagnose the issue. I am an electrician by trade with other restricted tickets in gas fitting and A/C, so understanding basic principles of operation should not be an issue.

Here is my log so far, I usually do something like this so I can look back on the history later :-)

"Wega Mininova EVD
    - Purchased July 2016
    - Unit had been converted to mains by coffee shop (who?). No original level sensor for tank included though.
    - Seller said that the vacuum breaker would need replacing, and that the tank pressure relief valve might too – spare relief valve was included.
    - Burnt out wire inside.
    Work done
    - Replaced wire inside – wire to element, crimp connection was u/s. Resecured overtemp sensor to boiler with new thermal paste and double nut instead of single.
    - Ordered and replaced vacuum breaker as original no longer sealed. Checked inside of tank, had a little scale but not too bad.
    - Replaced boiler pressure relief valve as old one was tested and found to be corroded shut.
    - Ran unit, found to be running OK but there was an apparent problem with boiler pressure – adjusted pressurestat but found water temp to be inconsistent. Checked and found scale inside capilliary to gauge, therefore gauge was reading incorrectly and inconsistently.