Like Tree4Likes
  • 1 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By 338
  • 1 Post By magnafunk
  • 1 Post By splashalot

Thread: Unico Splendor queries

Unico Splendor queries

First post!

I recently bought a Unico Splendor at Cosmorex in Canberra. They are always very helpful and Im really excited with the new purchase. I am new to machines with the E61 and the Splendor specifically. I have a question concerning making an espresso.

Basically, Im concerned that the resulting puck is a bit wet and sloppy. The extraction time in total to get about 30mls is between 30-40 seconds, so a bit on the slow side. Im fairly confident I have the grind setting correct, Im just wondering whether Im underdosing or overdosing and/or tamping incorrectly. Any pointers on this would be fantastic, alternatively any specific tips for this machine (idiosyncrasies) would be highly welcome too.

For what its worth, Im using Cosmorex Blue blend which Im grinding on my Rocky Rancilio (doserless) on setting 9.

Re: Unico Splendor queries

Great pick-up!

I know that sometimes when the puck is sloppy its cos ive got too fine a grind. Maybe try and coursen it up a notch and try again.

Lucifuge
    Congrats on the new machine & wishing you many happy years of great coffee

As a starting point grind your beans to a consistency similar to salt and adjust from there

Standard dose single is 7 grams and double is 14 grams by weight

Tamp pressure should be 15 to 20 kg (a set of bathroom scales will help with this)
    What tamper are you using?

KK

Quote Originally Posted by Koffee Kosmo link=1227826268/0#2 date=1227826824
    Lucifuge
    Congrats on the new machine & wishing you many happy years of great coffee

As a starting point grind your beans to a consistency similar to salt and adjust from there

Standard dose single is 7 grams and double is 14 grams by weight

Tamp pressure should be 15 to 20 kg (a set of bathroom scales will help with this)
    What tamper are you using?

KK