Thread: Sunbeam 4800C wet steam?

Sunbeam 4800C wet steam?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, all. Im new to this field, but enjoying it immensely. Sucks you right in, doesnt it! ;D

Anyway, Ive only had my machine a few weeks, but already picking up on lots of tips here (yes, Ive got my EM480 grinder and Krups filter on order!). This is the first machine Ive ever looked at (learnt basics from the supplied DVD, which is pretty good).

Anyway, my steam seems too wet. I have posted a video on you tube, and wonder if anyone can give me a comment on it. This is after the machine is well and truly warmed up, and is in steady state steaming. Should you be able to hold you hand directly under the steam like I can??

Video link: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i7ef5FAN5vU

Also, not sure whether this test means anything, but to measure the amount of water I get from the steam, I half fill a mug with water, weigh and tare the scale (1g resolution), then steam it with nozzle under the surface for 30 seconds. Reweigh. Ive done this quite a few times and tyoically 17-20 g (ml) of water is added. *Can someone try this experiment and let me know what you get?

BTW, I have been able to create great microfoam, but I wonder with dry steam whether I might do much better. I changed the froth attachment steam wand, to the larger all metal wand that is standard on the 3600, 3800, 5600, etc. The above test is with this wand (got lucky and my local sunbeam repair guys gave me one!).

Help!?

A_M

Re: Sunbeam 4800C wet steam?

Steam into a empty Jug for 30 sec and see what you get...

I would suggest it is a bit wet and maybe not quite hot enough.

People forget that you can not see real steam.... What you seeing is the steam condensing and in your case, water that has not gotten as hot as it should or is being cooled ??