Thread: Via Venezia EMO480 vs Silvia/Rocky upgrade

det

Via Venezia EMO480 vs Silvia/Rocky upgrade

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone, I have ordered a non-pressurised portafilter for my Via Venezia and I intend to get an EMO480, a tamper and begin experimenting and generally improving my espresso quality. I was looking seriously at a Silvia/Rocky combo but after reading posts on this site and elsewhere I think I need to work on my technique and knowledge before I upgrade. Questions if anyone can help/comment:
    Is the VV/EMO480 combo ok to work with for the moment or is difference in espresso quality definately worth the upgrade to Silvia/Rocky immediately bearing in mind I am a novice?
    Is there a rule of thumb for tamp pressure or is that trial an error?
    I was given a product called "Cleancaf" to descale my VV is that suitable (I notice the directions say to use weekly whereas I thought at 3 mth intervals)
    I have heard the EMO480 needs adjustment to produce a grind fine enough for the VV, is that correct? Thanks, any comments appreciated.

Re: Via Venezia EMO480 vs Silvia/Rocky upgrade

try a search press1, you will see heaps on tamping pressures. 15kg as a rule.

also heaps on cleaning products that people recommend for back flushing and cleaning.
    good luck

Ill let you know next week ::)

My daughter has the Via Venezia and am visiting her over the weekend in Coffs Harbour when I will convert the portafilter to non-pressurized and deliver her EM0480.

I recently sold my Silvia/Rocky, so I should be able to form an opinion of the difference in taste ;)

Watch this space :D

det

Thanks Coffee Snob Azz and Rusty for the replies. I will do those searches and look forward to the feedback on the VVs performance ex ppf with the EM0480.