Thread: Need help to pick a machine

Need help to pick a machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Ok i am new to this coffee stuff.I love my coffee and want to learn how to make a good brew, i need help in picking a machine for my budget, so far i have come up with the Gaggia classic. Does anyone have other ideas thanks.Lee 8-) 8-) 8-) Ok the budget is $500 for the machine and i dont have grinder,i will be making 2 cups at a time both flat whites.
    And i live in wollongong.I have been told sunbeams break down all the time.

Re: Need help to pick a machine

Welcome to CoffeeSnobs.

Uhhh--what was that budget again?
    What sort of brew do you want to make?
    Do you want to froth milk as well?
    How many do you make at one time?
    Where do you live?
    Do you have grinder already, or does the budget include money for one?

These will be a good start.
    Or you could cruise the site in the appropriate price categories.
    Or you could use the search.

Greg

Caffeine Junky

Welcome tysson. I was in your situation only 2 months ago and have come a long way in that short time...hope you can benefit from my experience.

What everyone on this site will tell you is that you should concentrate on getting yourself a decent burr grinder...and theyre right. At the bottom end of the recommended range is the Sunbeam EM0480 which are ~$220 new.

Obviously this is nearly half your budget already. Within that range youre looking at machines with pressurised baskets. If you dont know what that means, do a search for pressurised and unpressurised baskets either here or on google. You could buy yourself a Breville Ikon or a lower end Sunbeam and replace the pressurised baskets with unpressurised.

Personally I would go with second hand, well maintained equipment. Ideally off another CS member who has been contributing to the site for some time. This is what Ive done (twice) and been happy so far.