Thread: HELP!!!

HELP!!!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hey guys, im new to this so go easy.

Ok basically i have an old sunbeam coffee machine EM4800 that i got for free off a mate so its about 5 years old give or take. I just bought a new sunbeam EM0480 grinder so i can get the best out of my beans. OK so now that i can no longer blame my pre-ground coffee for the problem, why am i still getting poor shots of coffee? My usual routine starts off buy pre-heating everything, putting one scoop of coffee in the group, tamping lightly, and then putting the machine of for 20-25 seconds. I tried measuring the pours in 30ml shot glasses and finally got it down to the right timing. The problem is there is only a thin layer of creame and it doesnt look like the ones on youtube. The grinder recommends 12-16 grind level and im on 16. Is the problem with my tamping, the grind, or is my machine just not good enough? Also should i be filling up the group to the top and levelling off or just putting the one measured scoop in? Any help would be greatly appreciated

Re: HELP!!!

Hi Metro and welcome.

A couple of things immediately come to mind:-

1. How fresh are the beans? Did you buy them fresh from a roaster, or even roast them yourself? If you bought them from a Supermarket, they are pre-staled and wont produce much crema. Even ones from some of the mass-market coffee houses are stale before you buy them. Find a local roaster, buy from BrownBay (top left for the link), or order online from one of the Sponsors to the left. Any purchased beans *should* have a Roasted On date and, three weeks from this date or so can mean that they are going stale.