Thread: Ok, so Im a newb!

Ok, so Im a newb!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi guys,

Wow! This is a great site that I had no idea of until 2 days ago!

Anyway, Ive been doing some reading up on what should be my next machine, but between me having no coffee because my terrible Krups XP4020 broke, and the mass of info here, I have a headache. Problem is, I need a new machine FAST! No coffee!

I dont really want to spend more than $400ish, already have a grinder, would prefer as little aluminium in the workings as possible, and would like something that I could monitor pressure with if possible (and if necessary). For the record I pretty much exclusively drink Di Bella Felici and love short macs. (Though my wife may like the ability to make a cappuccino very occasionally.)

On reading these pages, it seems the Breville Ikon is good bang for the buck, but is there anything else out there that will gain me better coffee for a little more money? (edit - just continuing to browse - theres the DeLonghi 1385 and the Sunbeam EM5600 & 5900) ???

I throw myself at your mercy as to what is a better option in this price range or thereabouts if there is a sale.

Thanks very much!

Caffeine Junky

Re: Ok, so Im a newb!

Welcome Yojimbo.

Firstly what type of grinder do you own? *That’s a vital question.

I would recommend Nemox Felice for $579. *It’s in a completely different league to the Ikon or anything else in your price range.

http://(no free plug here)/nemox-fenice-espresso-machine-p-126.html?osCsid=0b3f04cfc7383e38a05ebb6e50ae0c8d

Caffeine Junky

$400 will restrict you to whats referred to on here as appliance category machines.
    These come with pressurised baskets, mostly thermoblocks for heating and a limited lifespan.

I use an Ikon with the matching BarAroma grinder on a semi-regular basis when I visit the in-laws. *It can make reasonable coffee although I do find it frustrating to use compared to my machines.