Thread: Help: wanting to upgrade

Help: wanting to upgrade

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi!

Im new posting to this site, but have been on here reading for a while.

I had a little Cafe Roma for around a year which was given to me as a present, and got some decent use out of it with local beans and a dodgy little grinder which produced better coffee than most Ive tried out at the usual coffee chains.

I was hoping to keep the Cafe Roma for a while, and get a semi decent grinder (eg. Sunbeam EM4050/80), then work my way from there, but my cafe roma has died, and now Im stuck with the prospect of getting a new machine.

The main problem I have is being a student I have a fairly limited budget.

I have my heart set on a EM6910 paired with a EM4050/80, but am not sure if I can realistically afford it...unless I can find a good deal: I can probably only budget $600-700: so less than the RRP of the 6910 :(
    I think this might be good as:
    1) Unpressurized (decent sized) baskets
    2) Better temperature control than other thermoblock machines
    3) Dual thermoblock/Ease of use: I often make 10+ coffees for family+friends, so want a machine that can handle making multiple coffees quickly, and have consistency

However recently I have seen the EM5900 and EM4050 on sale for $399, which seems like a good deal: anyone had any experience with this?

Also, has anyone seen a similar package with the EM6910?

And would looking for 2nd hand machines be a good idea, or is it too "dangerous"?

Would love to hear anyones suggestions as to what I should look for!

And thanks for the tremendous amount I have already learnt from this site! :D

Re: Help: wanting to upgrade

Welcome to Coffee Snobs.

10+ coffees for family+friends :o

I think you need to ask for some donations towards your new machine;
    seems to me they helped kill the Roma.

Quote Originally Posted by 1529342F252433262E25410 link=1251714351/1#1 date=1251723122