Thread: Cafe Roma to EM6910 upgrade

Cafe Roma to EM6910 upgrade

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    First post, but Ive been browsing here for the last month...
    My 6 year old Cafe Roma started steaming from the inside, and when on steam it would sometimes pump continously instead of pulsing.
    Being an electrical engineer, I pulled it apart, found moisture and corrosion on the circuit board, which I repaired, following with a spray of conformal coating to help waterproof it. (this is a sort of polyurethane varnish).
    This worked for a while, but the internal steam got worse, so I pulled it to bits again and found it was leaking at the base of the element. Separating the element was a bit more difficult, as the screws were corroded and snapped off, but it came apart. I was surprised to find things in pretty good condition, but thats not too surprising, as I use filtered water only (reverse osmosis), and the areas which water flows through are teflon coated (like a non-stick frying pan).
    The larger o-ring was leaking, so I cleaned all the mating surfaces up, drilled out the broken screws, re-tapped for new screws, and put it all together again.
    This all happened over several days, and caffeine withdrawl pushed me into looking for a replacement machine.
    Unfortunately, my expectations of a new machine were dashed when the re-assembled Cafe Roma ran perfectly, so I was resigned to perfecting my techniques. With this machine I found I could get excellent pours with the following technique:
    1. bring machine up to temp.
    2. run water through the basket until metal part of the filter handle is too hot to touch.
    3. dose with fresh, very finely ground coffee, and tamp hard (even doing this, I find I only get 20 secs till blonding)
    4. brew - crema starts immediately, due to the preheating.