Thread: OMG im a noob... information overload... can you help?

OMG im a noob... information overload... can you help?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, Ive been reading through the forums for a few days and have learnt so far that a decent grinder & fresh beans are super important, and also that unpressurised baskets make a difference too.

Im looking for a basic machine because with bubba number 2 due in January I wont be working part time anymore and therefore wont be in the vicinity of a decent caffeine fix 3 days a week, so I reckon its time to look at a home setup.

What Im looking at after doing a bit of research is a Sunbeam EM0480 grinder (found a 2nd hand one for $80) and a Sunbeam Cafe Espresso EM3800 machine.

I know this is a fairly low end machine but I have read some good reviews (and not just from Choice, although I did read that thread :) ) and am hoping that the decent grinder will help.

I have a few questions though - this whole modifying baskets thing sounds terribly techincal for a totally non-mechanically minded chicky - Im assuming this cheap-ish machine comes with a pressurised basket so does anyone know if its easy to buy a non-pressurised one to fit? Roughly how much are they? Are they easy to source?

Also I usually drink a skim decaf (shame, shame... but Im pregnant so I have an excuse) cappuccino so froth is important but not nearly as important as temperature... I like my coffee scaldingly hot - do these machines have any kind of temperature control? Or is it mostly a matter of how hot I can get the milk without burning it.

Also are these machines usually easy to clean? I know if they are fiddly to clean out I will end up not using it.

thx for your help :D

Blog Entries

Re: OMG im a noob... information overload... can you help?

Welcome to CoffeeSnobs Noni.

Newbies are always welcome and its nice to see someone having a read before posting
    ;)