Thread: New and looking for opinions on setup.

New and looking for opinions on setup.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

Im new and have done a little research and come up with the following two setups.

my budget is $400

whats your opinion on these? and do you have any other suggestions?

1. $370 - Sunbeam EM4800C + Sunbeam EM0450 <- $70 cheaper than EM0480

2. replace the above grinder with DeLonghi KG100

3. $400 - Breville 800ES + (Free Breville grinder BCG450)

Cheers,
    Springy

Caffeine Junky

Re: New and looking for opinions on setup.

Option 1. is the best in my opinion.

The Breville grinder does not grind fine enough for espresso. There is a simple modification that can be done which improves the grind but I do not have personal experience with this modification and recently read a post where another member found it was still not fine enough.

I have no experience with the DeLonghi but believe it is also not up to make espresso.

I started my coffee journey with a similar set up although I bought everything second hand and actually made some money when I re-sold soon after.

You will need to get yourself an unpressurised basket or use a Dremmel (or other tool) to take off the bottom floor of the pressurised baskets the machine comes with.

Firstly welcome to Coffee Snobs.

Secondly forget the KG100.

The 0450 and 0480 are as far as I know internally the same.
    I bought the cheaper one myself.

I have no experience with the 4800C.

Dont be sucked in to buying the Breville because of the free grinder (its free for a reason - you get what you pay for if you catch my drift).

The Delonghi is rubbish for Espresso even when modded and add the Breville to that list too. The 450 is "adequate" for Espresso but have a read around the grinders section you will see some fairly simple mods to improve it if needed.