Thread: Cheap thermoblocks vs Breville Ikon boiler?

Cheap thermoblocks vs Breville Ikon boiler?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, Im new to CSs and wish I had found it sooner.
    Ive been running a sunbeam 5600 for the past 4 years with sunbeam 480 grinder and it died a couple of days ago.
    I cant make the step up to a proper machine and confined to the land of Breville and Sunbeam I fear.
    I noticed the Breville Ikon mentioned a lot and found them at the outlest shop in Melbourne. They have a boiler compared to the thermobocks of all the other cheap machines.
    Is it worth buying his unit to get me thru the next couple of years rather than the thermoblocks.
    Any other sub 500 machines worth considering in Melb area?

Re: Cheap thermoblocks vs Breville Ikon boiler?

Theres a Breville for sale here but I think its still thermoblock.

Also consider the sunbeam 6910. Its twin thermoblock. Theres a review here against a Rancilio Silvia (how much are they these days?)

In terms of boiler, apparently the EM2300 has one, but it looks pretty cheap at $120.

Is there any chance of you affording a good machine in say 12 months. If so the stated Sunbeam Ristretto EM2300 is a good reliable machine. I had one for 12 months and used it a lot. I found the steam to be good. It would heat up in no time at all in the morning.

Being so cheap you could buy one and use it until you can afford something with lots of brass and then put it away in a cupboard for a rainy day or your next road trip(none of us like the blend 43 most place supply)

Quote Originally Posted by 685751564B4C7D604D5B4E47220 link=1275609621/2#2 date=1275629207
    Is there any chance of you affording a good machine in say 12 months.
    Ill go nuts in 12 days!!! :o