Thread: EM4800 water leak problem

EM4800 water leak problem

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Howdy, Im a snob newbie and would like some advice with a problem. I have an old cheap Sunbeam EM4800 which until recently was putting out reasonable cups. Just recently though water is now bursting over the basket during the pour.

I took this opportunity while ordering a new basket head seal to also grab some better Krups baskets which Id read here will give better results. :) Unfortunately the problem persists so now Im unsure what the issue is.

Does anyone have any tips on what it might be and how I can track down the issue.

A_M

Re: EM4800 water leak problem

Split group Collar..

The Black composite material is known to split with heavy and or extreme use..

And yet it happens to all brands... Have even see a few of teh group handels loos one or more of the three lugs..

I cracked 3 collars in a matter of a year on my EM4800 after I modified the machine..
    Cheap pieces of crap parts. Will cost around $33 to replace.
    I gave up in the end and wifey allowed the purchase of a Silvia.

Good luck!

Quote Originally Posted by 7E6160767072130 link=1278310839/2#2 date=1278385221
    wifey allowed the purchase of a Silvia.
    Smart Wifey ;)

Hey there,

Long time Coffee Snobs lurker but this is my first post :)

My 3yo Sunbeam EM4800 is leaking/drizzling water from the edge of the flat black plastic sheet on the underside that surrounds the group collar.

I cant imagine its a cracked collar because:

- the water is not under pressure where it emerges - its drizzling, not spraying
    - the leak comes over the top of the plastic sheet, suggesting the origin is higher than the collar
    - Ive replaced the seal (several times over the years)
    - Ive removed and closely inspected the collar for cracks

It happened on the very first pour from the Krups depressurised basket so perhaps the pressure burst a gasket somewhere inside.