Thread: Newbie to coffee makers

Newbie to coffee makers

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi

Ive been making instant coffee at home, Moccona. Id like to invest in a coffee maker for no more than about $100. Im a full time uni student and until I get a job I have to watch my budget.

A friend has a Delonghi Alicia EMK6 6-cup coffee maker and he says he likes it. I havent been able to find it in Melbourne. Are there other brands or models I should look at with the auto switch off and keeps the coffee warm for a while. How much would I need to spend on a coffee grinder?

Would Russell Hobs and Breville be good brands for coffee makers? I tried a Nespresso coffee once and it didnt seem it was worth the price of the Nespresso coffee makers. With my budget I cant justify spending $300 or more on a coffee maker.

I did hear about the Aero Press. Is that any good? Ive got a plunger but the coffee seems very weak when I use it. Although Id be open to suggestions with making coffee with the plunger, I bought it from IKEA.

Im trying to lose weight so I use Pura Lite Start milk and artificial sweetener.

Thanks.

Re: Newbie to coffee makers

At that price range, stick with the plunger and buy a real grinder and use fresh beans.

A real grinder will run you about $100--either a manual (better quality but slow for more than 2 cups) or a Sunbean 0450 (a bit more that $100, but electric). Cheaper grinders than this are VERY UNLIKELY to produce the quality of grinding that is necessary for a decent cup of coffee. Especially avoid the whirling blade style which chop the beans into odd sized pieces and make good coffee all but impossible.

The strength depends on how many grounds you use, the bean, the roast, and the water temperature.

Greg

Can I introduce you to the most economical form of coffee making
    Get yourself an Ibric/Briki and learn the joys of wonderful Greek/Turkish coffee

More people consume this style than any other