Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Sunbeam Latte: Espresso Machine

Sunbeam Latte: Espresso Machine

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello all,

Im a newbie to the snob world. Brand spankin new in fact. I bought my first espresso machine today!! I bought a "Sunbeam Cafe Latte" machine. I wasnt sure what my budget was, however heard from my sister that this machine won the Choice award for best machine under $500 and then was offered a deal I could not pass up ($90 for floor stock machine, milk jug, steel tamper, and 250g ground Illy coffee) Plus the machine has all the features Im after!

I have a fair bit of experience in making coffees (commercially), so I have no troubles in making coffees or stretching milk. However I do have a few questions:

1. As it was floor stock, turns out that the only group filter I have is a double shot. It appears to be a 51mm group. Does anyone know if theres a store in Sydney where I can buy a single shot filter from (Illy is too good to waste after all)?

2. Turns out the tamper that was thrown in (Branded Sunbeam) is too big (58mm). Again, does anyone know of a store where I can buy a 51mm one? (By the way, does a 51mm vs. 52mm tamper make much of a difference? If so, what?).

3. Im used to the coffee grinder at work extracting the correct amount of ground coffee (one flick for a single shot, two flicks for a double). So, Im not sure how much coffee I should be putting into my group. I have the scoop that came with the machine, do I use this as a guide (e.g. one heaped/flat scoop)? Ive heard that if you run your finger over the top of the group (so that its not a heap) produces the correct amount of coffee. Is this so?

4. This relates to the previous question as well as tamping pressure. How much space should there be from the top of the group filter to the top of the coffee cake (e.g. 5mm)?