Thread: What to buy - your opinion please!

What to buy - your opinion please!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi, *am a total novice at coffee machines and we are about to embark on our first. *Have looked at the following and would like your opinion as to which you would recommend (or stay clear of):
    Breville Cafe Roma ESP8C
    Sunbeam Cafe Latte EM5600
    Breville Ikon *BES400
    Breville Pro 800ES
    I suppose priorities (besides the actual coffee) would be ease of operation, reliability, and good milk frothing (babycino/fluffies for the kids :) ). *

Advice?

Re: What to buy - your opinion please!

Hi there,

Out of all of those, the Breville Ikon with its 200mil Stainless Steel Boiler and Electronic Temp Control..

Please dont forget about a grinder... which the minimum would be the Sunbeam EM0450/\/EM0480...

And I would get some Krups "real" coffee baskets...

Cheers,
    Marc

jimjam,

Hi and welcome to CoffeeSnobs...

Yep, Id second everything Marc said above....

Ikon with normal baskets is the best of that group.

Hi I have just purchased the Breville bes400. good price atm ($299).
    Was just wondering if anyone could tell me which krups non-pressurized baskets Id need.
    I found some part numbers from a thread about the sunbeam em5800.

Part number for the Krups non-pressurised double basket is MS0907163, $11.12+GST.
    Number for the non-pressurised single basket is MS0925592, $13.84+GST

Does anyone know if these are the correct baskets to use for the breville?

thanks in advance!

Hi,

My Mum just bought a EM6910 newin the box with full warranty from the Sunbeam clearance shop, she paid $425. I think normal retail is about $699 for this model, have not had a chance to have a good play with it yet but according to you guys its a great machine.

The machine was in new condition, only the box had been damaged.

Enjoy

Quote Originally Posted by ktime link=1180165483/0#3 date=1180187528