Thread: Cafe Roma Problems

Cafe Roma Problems

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    After having a good run with my Roma, it is now giving me grief :( brews are now undrinkable. I have tried different beans(fresh), tried different variations of temp surfing, soaked the depressurised basket in cleaning vinegar to clean up any old oils, straight hot water tastes fine, tried everything I can think but still get a undrinkable sour/bitter brew. Any suggestions are welcome.

Re: Cafe Roma Problems

My experience of the Cafe Roma is that it has a quite limited lifespan - have you de-scaled the boiler?

I know the cost of upgrading always hurts, but the Cafe Roma was never going to be where you finished your journey as a coffeesnob - just a place to start.

damn thats a shame, how long have you had it? Ive had my roma for about 3 years I think and its still fine.

ozz

Greetings all.
    Yep, another bumbling newbie here...I had a laugh
    I just got a bargain buy off ebay of a Breville Cafe Roma ESP8B but im buggered if I can work out how to make a great cuppa from it. Ive been lurking around here reading everything I can about grinding/brewing etc & have tried a lot of different combinations(but not all yet). Can someone who has had/has one of these machines suggest a recipe for success please?
    Id love to have a nice cup soon & dont see much point in battling on by my self. It seems the sensible thing to do to ask for help. So thanks in advance for any help you could lend.
    Oz

PS, I just timed the mrs making her coffee & it was 46 secs to pour 240mls for the way she likes her coffee done.

DIG

Hi ozz