Thread: Please help a coffee noob become a coffee snob!

Please help a coffee noob become a coffee snob!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi folks!

I’m brand new to the world of espresso, having for a long time been a drip filter or French press fan.
    After stumbling upon this glorious website I used a gift voucher to purchase a cheapo Sunbeam Café Ristretto to see if I’d enjoy espresso.
    Although I can tell the quality is not as good as say the corner café (which unlike most cafes can actually make good coffee!) it still does the job, and has turned me into an espresso addict.
    My question is, how do I make the Café Ristretto experience better? I have read something about changing the basket to a Krups, but I have no idea how to do this, or exactly what part I need.
    Also, any tips on making the espresso using this machine? I spent two weeks on holiday trying different techniques and found some worked better than others – ie, tamping pressure, frothing different types of milk, grinding at different settings.
    I have bought a Breville burr grinder (set me back about $128) and am about to do the mod that I read about on this forum that allows you to increase the fineness of the grind to what the machine is capable of.
    Also – one last question – what is the difference between a pressurised and non-pressurised basket? This is totally new to me. Obviously not all espresso machines are created equally [ch61514]
    Many thanks.

Re: Please help a coffee noob become a coffee snob

Hi cafeiguana and welcome.

The Cafe Ristretto paired with the Breville burr grinder is a fairly low entry point.
    I would hazard a guess that your fondness for espresso will press you to a better combination when funds allow.

For the moment though, its all about the taste, and if you are happy, then keep on trucking!

The quickest and usually most noticeable way to jump in quality is with a good grinder.