Thread: Non-pressurized portafilter for Saeco Via Venezia

Non-pressurized portafilter for Saeco Via Venezia

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi everyone,

Im new to Coffee Snobs and have already learnt so much from this forum! Im currently on the hunt for a non-pressurized portafilter that would fit my Saeco Via Venezia domestic machine. Does anyone know where I can get one in Melbourne, or even order one online somewhere? I would prefer to get a separate PF rather than having to remove the bits from my current one to "depressurize" it.

Any advice is much appreciated.
    Cheers,
    Cristen

Re: Non-pressurized portafilter for Saeco Via Vene

Hi Cristen,

Try this service centre in Sydney. *They may be able to post out to you. *The portafilter was about $40 when I bought one about three years ago. *Youll have to call as they dont seem to have a web site.

Unit 6
    100 Belmore Rd, Riverwood, NSW 2210

1300 730 233[ch8206]

Good luck
    Matt *:)

Thanks Matt, Ill definitely give them a call! What has your experience been with the unpressurized portafilter?

Btw I came across this post on coffeegeek.com, where this guy had totally removed the entire pressure regulator from his PF: http://www.coffeegeek.com/forums/espresso/machines/343159

Dont think Ill be able to take it apart and put it back in one piece though! :P

Cristen,

It is very easy to make your current pf un-pressurised! Ive done it with no sweat at all. It might be worth trying it prior to shelling out money on a new one. That way you can reverse it if needed.

In saying that Id be interested to know if you manage to get one. I have seen on from a shop on evil bay that is shipped from Italy but it wasnt too expensive.

Hey Cristen,

If you cant get a proper un-pressurized portafilter try the modification in this thread.

http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1091413062/0