Thread: building a breville 800

building a breville 800

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    This is my first post on this forum and ill start by saying that I have two years of barista experience between one mediocre shop and one pretty high class coffee shop and I have never touched an automatic espresso machine, nor do I ever want to. Im definitely not an expert on espresso, but Im not a total newbie, either.

Ive always wanted to get a Silvia, but yesterday I went bargain shopping and picked up a Breville 800esxl for $75. I know it has gotten mixed reviews but i couldnt pass it up. That being said, it was just the machine, and none of the required parts, so i get to start from the ground up! Pretty exciting, i think. It has never even been plugged in, until yesterday when i tested it out. My question is, which parts do i get?

Most forums say that the depressurized porta filter is a must. Does depressurizing just require getting a different filter basket(like the krups one), or the entire porta filter and basket?

Do I need to get the breville froth enhancer, or is that just a gimmick? Ive never used one with the powerful commercial machines im used to.

Where can i get a cheap tamp instead of the fancy $50+ rigs?

Will my burr grinder that I use for my drip coffee do the trick temporarily until I can get my hands on a doser?

Re: building a breville 800

Hi and welcome to CoffeeSnobs! :)

Im a lot newer at this than you, but you wont ever need a froth enhancer if youve used commercial machines - youll just find your 800 steam wand less powerful and therefore slower than youd expect. You may need to use smaller jugs than youre used to as well. If youre used to using two-hole wands, the single hole needs a slightly different technique but youll master that quickly by surfing the top of the milk and keeping the wand near the side of the jug to assist the whirlpool to commence.

What brand/model is your burr grinder?