Thread: Advise needed on Breville 800 + Sunbeam grinder

Advise needed on Breville 800 + Sunbeam grinder

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi All

Newbie here. Its been a complete revelation having found this site. Embarrassingly, Ive had my Breville 800 for 3 years not realising the issue with the pressurised basket. I bought my Sunbeam Cafe series grinder about 2 years ago in an attempt to get better coffee.

In the short time Ive been on this site, Ive learnt alot about the issues of the Breville and yesterday received my Krup filter basket on this sites recommendations. Before I start experimenting alot, was wondering if anyone could advise on what grind setting yields the best espresso shots for the 800.

I tried 2 this morning, first on gring setting 4 and the shot came out very very slow (drop by drop instead of a flow) and slightly bitter but my puck was dry unlike the pressurised basket which over the last 3 months has been wetter and wetter with each shot. The second, i changed to 6 and again the shot came out very slow (drop by drop) with the puck slightly wet. I have a proper metal tamper and what I believe is a adequate tamp.

Any suggestions on how to make the most of what I have ?

Re: Advise needed on Breville 800 + Sunbeam grinde

Welcome JM!

First up tell us what your grinding / settling / tamping technique is. I.e. step us through what you do to make a shot. If theres a technique problem then fixing this is the first step.

Greg

Hi Greg

My routine is pretty simple.

- Machine is on for at least 30mins beforehand.
    - Coffee mugs are heated with boiling water
    - I froth the milk first if applicable (for caps and lattes)
    - I then grind the coffee (as this morning setting 4-6)
    - I typically fill the FB halfway and tamp then keep filling up and tamping until the coffee is flushed to the top. The tamping pressure is at least 15lbs since I do lean alittle into it.