Thread: Help with Breville 800ES

Help with Breville 800ES

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all! I am a newbie looking for some help. Today I bought my first ever espresso machine, the 800ES. I chose this machine simply because the retailer had lost the packaging and a couple of accessories (jug + tamper - no big deal) and I was able to pick it up for $130, which seemed like a pretty good buy.

However, on getting it home, Ive also discovered it is missing the filter baskets. Can anybody suggest either how to get replacements (Ive emailed Breville, but its a weekend...) or a suitable alternative????

Thanks in advance.

Re: Help with Breville 800ES

Hi Lucy,

Welcome... Ive only been here for about 3 weeks, but have been learning HEAPS by reading old threads.

Thats a great buy, we thought we were doing well getting one for $229 from the Breville factory shop. We got a couple of unpressurised filter baskets while we were there for $5.00each. If you are in Sydney, the Pyrmont shop is closed on Sundays, but they have another shop in Redfern St, Redfern which may be open tomorrow.

Good luck.

Cheers - Carrie

Thanks Carrie, thats helpful.

Unfortunately I am nowhere near Sydney (or any capital city for that matter), but do get down that way frequently for work, so Ill keep that in mind.

I should point out that it is only the single basket that is missing, so no big deal at the moment either :).

Thanks again.

Hi Lucy, and welcome to CoffeeSnobs.

The single basket being missing is a blessing in disguise. They are usually very different to use from a double and make the learning process longer and more complicated. The CS advice is to throw it in a drawer somewhere and forget it.

Singles are made using the double recipe, and either saving the other half for an iced coffee, dumping it down the sink, or cutting the shot short and drinking a ristretto.

I choose the ristretto path as a regular thing, its my favourite coffee.

Greg