Thread: Which machine to buy??

Which machine to buy??

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi coffee snobs,

newbie here. Came across this site while looking up coffee machines and there is some great information on here! :)

Im buying my mum a coffee machine for christmas, my budget isnt very big, unfortunately. Can only spend $400 on one (wish I could spend more though!). So, Im just wondering what machine I should buy in my price range that is relatively good?

I have read good reviews on the Breville 800ES, but then also read some not-so-good reviews on it as well ;D So it is all very confusing!! :-/ I am also wondering if there are any other machines in that price range that I may have missed??

Any help is appreciated! :)

Re: Which machine to buy??

gday ml,

welcome to cs! im sure youll get plenty of advice...just give it a day or so.

to be able to help you better, wed need to know how serious you mum is about her coffee and most importantly if she already has a grinder. buying her a $400 machine that she will use to make coffee with pre-ground supermarket coffee really is a waste of your money.

if shes using a plunger or stovetop already, then spend your $400 on a good grinder and her coffee will be hugely improved...then you can buy her a machine next year. :)

if she already has a grinder, then I would consider a good second hand espresso machine like a Silvia, they often go for about $500. this is much better value than a Breville, but you may not have time to find one before christmas.

good luck,

sd