Thread: Sunbeam Warranty Advice

Sunbeam Warranty Advice

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight

Gday All,

To cut a long story short, I have been using a Sunbeam EM4800C for the last 18 months making at least 2 coffees a day.
    Thats over 1000 coffees with the same machine, so its not unreasonable to think that I have some understanding of the operation and idiosyncrasies of the device.
    Some two weeks ago something changed, the water flow has slowed dramatically and the coffee that it produces smells and looks burnt and is bitter.
    The Sunbeam repairer that I took the machine too said that there is nothing wrong as water flows through.
    He claims that there is no pressure test or temperature test that he or Sunbeam can do on my machine and that his experience tells him that the machine is working fine.

I havent rung Sunbeam back yet as I want to gather as much advice and leverage as possible before I do.
    Any advice or ideas on how to approach this or where to go from here?

Any help much appreciated.

Cheers and Merry Christmas!

Matt

Re: Sunbeam Warranty Advice

I dont know about warranty after 18 months but Id be impressing upon them that you know the water flow has dramatically reduced.

Ask them what the correct flow rate should be.
    How many mls in 30 seconds when not under pressure?
    Thats the test to prove you are correct.

No pressure or temp test?!!!???
    Sounds like hes talking through his @r53!

The problem people have got to "come to grips" with is that these machines are appliances (albeit expensive appliances in some cases).

In todays world appliances are chucked when they cease operating correctly (or in lots of cases - when a new shinier more "bling" version is released)...