Thread: Breville 800es grounds in cup

Breville 800es grounds in cup

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

Im having a bit of trouble with my Breville 800es. Im a total newbie to coffee snobbery so please excuse me if my terminology isnt up to par :) I aspire to be a true coffee snob one day.

Anyhoo,

I have had a Breville 800es for about two years and its been working fine until recently.

I am finding the that the coffee grinds are ending up in the cup.

I am using a fine espresso blend and it occurs with both the single and double cup baskets.

Does anyone know off hand what the problem could be?

Any help would be much appreciated, I forgot just how expensive it was to buy my coffee at the local cafe every morning *:-[

Catstrat

Site Sponsor

Re: Breville 800es grounds in cup

Catstrat;

Usually this happen when the group head is dirty, suggestion will be clean your group head with small brush.

Other wise here is an option:

http://www.dibartoli.com.au/product_details.asp?pid=119

Regards

Renzo

Thanks Di Bartoli, it does appear that the grouphead is dirty.

Ill purchase a brush and give it a clean and see if it solves the problem.

Thanks for helping out a noob.

Catstrat

Ok Im a little ashamed posting these pics here but the group head was filthy and the seal appears to have perished a bit.

I intend to give it all a good clean out and obtain a new seal and see if this solves my problem.

Catstrat

Also, another reason that maybe youve started tamping on a surface (rubber mat or otherwise) that has loose grinds that get stuck on the spouts when you tamp. They often end up in the cup during pour.

What grinder are you using?

and welcome! :)

Site Sponsor

Catstrat:

As we expanding our business we have this seals now in stock, if you need one give us a call or pm us.

regards

Renzo