Thread: wet puck? EM4800c

wet puck? EM4800c

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi I dont know if this is covered elsewhere. I am a newbie to this whole coffee business at home so bear with me, I have a new EM4800C sunbeam, *and a new EM0480 Grinder. On the sunbeam DVD there is talk of a dry puck of coffee after you have used it. mine is sopping wet with water floating on top of the basket. It doesnt matter what grind i use, from 15 to 20 and even using commercially ground coffee for my machine from my friendly coffee roaster. Is this normal, shouldnt it be dry [ish]. Also if i use a slightly finer grind down to say 13 and lightly tamped [unlike dvd which wants me to lean into it] there is still water on top, and usually starts spitting out steam almost straight away. Am i doing something fundamentally wrong, or is there an issue with my machine. Sunbeam by the way said it is the grinder even though i explained the various grinds i was using. Any help greatly appreciated. :-/

Re: wet puck? EM4800c

Nop nothing wrong with technique.

Reason for the wet puck is the double floor filter basket which restricts water flow to create a false pressure and fake crema.

When you turn the pump off, theres not enough pressure to push water through the basket and u get a wet puck with the residual water left in the basket.

I also have a feeling theres no pressure release valve. When you stop the shot, the pressure isnt released out a tube into the drip tray as with other machines. IIRC, the manual says to wait until the machine has cooled before unlocking the PF.

But yes, a double floor filter doesnt help the equation. Theres plenty of threads around on how to improve that situation.

http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1192424067
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1199980798

Hi All,
    Quote Originally Posted by 082E3926217E4F0 link=1247020098/1#1 date=1247021654