Thread: Sunbeam EM4800C fast pour problem

Sunbeam EM4800C fast pour problem

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,

Im very new to both drinking and making coffee. I hope someone can help me on my journey ...

I recently purchased a cheap Sunbeam EM4800 espresso machine. The results are very drinkable and much better than my previous coffee plunger attempts at making coffee.

The first couple of attempts were a bit bitter and I realized I needed to shorten the pour to collect only about 25mls of espresso. This removed the bitterness - quite nice, but the resulting pour time was extremely short - about 7 seconds from when the coffee first started to flow until 25mls had been collected. The colour was also more yellow than red/brown. Pretty much exactly the same as the first picture shown at http://www.sweetmarias.com/espresso-crema.php. It tasted OK but didnt give the same caffeine hit as coffee shop coffee. So, it seems clear that the problem is underextraction. I made sure to warm the group head before starting. I even tried using a two cup basket today for a single shot and tried tamping more firmly. The machine comes with a flimsy plastic tamper so its hard to apply too much pressure - but I was at least able to invert it without the contents falling out. The firmer tamping produced a slightly darker colour initially *but the pour was still too fast.