Thread: New PU5900 (EM5900 + EM0450) Sunbeam. Is this Normal?

New PU5900 (EM5900 + EM0450) Sunbeam. Is this Normal?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Im very new to the espresso coffee world and ive started a new thread as the other threads dont specifically address my issues.

Ive got the EM5900 + EM0450, ok to start with these were given to me as a gift so warranty wise im not sure how its going to work. I cant go to the person who supplied it and get a receipt.

With the EM5900 I love the look and feel of it, dont really have any concerns with it as I beleive the issues there are user error and will take me some getting used to.

1) What I did want to ask though, is it normal for when switching to steam for a fair amount of water just to drip through the steam wand? No steam goes through it at 1st and takes about 10 seconds. So as not to get mixed with the milk I turn it on into another jug to begin with. Ive used the EM4800C before and that machine doesnt do it.

2) When ive used the 4800C Ive easily been able to make thick foam. With this machine I cant make foam as such, I imagine its technique but ive read elsewhere that some people have had replacement machines that made the difference in making foam. However I imagine again its just my technique and also not having the rubber foam enhancement attachment probably makes a difference.

Theyre the main concerns I have with the EM5900.

Ok with the Grinder the EM0450, I think its a nice machine aesthetically and cleaning wise is probably easier than the EM0480 just from what ive seen.

Ok I definitely have a grind problem with this as it grinds way too course. Infact setting 25 and 1 make no difference. I know theres an issue with the EM0480/450 where they need shims. Id have thought theyd be free of issues by now though? Given that it seems to have been a common issue over 2 years ago.