Thread: How do i maximise my EM2300? CS has inspired me... :)

How do i maximise my EM2300? CS has inspired me... :)

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all

Ive inherited an EM2300 and after surfing the forums for a while, I realise I could really unlock some potential from this little machine!* Ill be the first to admit im a complete newbie, so dont complete understand all the finer points of coffee atm. Im also still quite limited in budget at the moment.* Keeping this in mind, this is where Im at right now...

[olist][*] I need to get a grinder! It seems the EM0450 seems to be a fav amongst CS (cheapest I can find online is $130 - anywhere I could pick it up cheaper?)
    I saw a Breville BCG450 for $89 brand new...worth getting?[*] Do I need to get a single walled filter?* could someone explain this to me more?* dont quite understand why its better
    Also I only have a double shot basket - is there a problem using this for single shots? [*]Tamping How much pressure should I tamp?* Also is the stock plastic tamper sufficient?[*]Beans* What is a good place to source some well priced and quality beans?* Im located in Kensington, Sydney. [*]General Advice? Ive read various things about Temp Surfing (please explain :)) , how to use the steam wand best (no rubber tip?) etc.* Any general tips for EM2300 use is appreciated
    [/olist]

Thankyou in advance guys.* I know it seems like there are a Lot of posts involving the EM2300 but hopefully this will not only help me, but help to consolidate info for may other newbies.* it seems to be the entry level choice!

Cheers!* [smiley=thumbsup.gif]

Re: How do i maximise my EM2300? CS has inspired me... :)

Quote Originally Posted by 3F31312F7821393831560 link=1300539373/0#0 date=1300539373
    I saw a Breville BCG450 for $89 brand new...worth getting?
    NO!

Quote Originally Posted by 3F31312F7821393831560 link=1300539373/0#0 date=1300539373
    Do I need to get a single walled filter?*