Thread: Help...

Help...

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi,
    Im new at this, but if anyone can offer any advice I would be grateful.
    I have recently bought a reconditioned Gaggia Color (same as a Gaggia Pure). I cant get any creama when trying to pour an espresso.
    I bought fresh beans (Harris Espresso "strong") and ground them on the finest setting I could (Breville cg12 grinder). I have tried two new bags of coffee but still there is no crema, just black and pretty watery coffee.
    Also the boiler bubbles quite a bit, which I am not used to.
    Any tips or suggestions?
    Peter

Re: Help...

Quote Originally Posted by 74555E6B52555C745557423B0 link=1300704797/0#0 date=1300704797
    I bought fresh beans (Harris Espresso "strong")
    Where did you buy them from, and how do you know when they were roasted? Ive usually seen this at Coles/Woolworths with no "Roasted on" date. Could be up to 6 months from roast date or more if thats the case.

Quote Originally Posted by 74555E6B52555C745557423B0 link=1300704797/0#0 date=1300704797
    just black and pretty watery coffee.
    What sort of time is a 60mL double shot taking to pour?

Quote Originally Posted by 77565D6851565F77565441380 link=1300704797/0#0 date=1300704797
    Any tips or suggestions?
    Peter
    Hi Peter
    sadly those beans will not be fresh...
    best bet is to go to a good roaster in the local area and buy fresh or one of the sponsors on this site including Andy here @ CS via his "buy roasted coffee" button up there on the left

whats your location ?

Thank you for your replies.
    Yes the beans are just form the supermarket. Is no crema expected?
    Im in Brisbane.
    60ml double shot takes 25 to 30 seconds to pour.
    Peter

plenty of great roasters now in Brisbane

Di Bella in Bowen hills
    Veneziano in west end

heaps in the valley area

if you happen to be local to Hawthorne area i can even give you some as i am roasting some tomorrow