Thread: 2nd hand coffee machine advice.

2nd hand coffee machine advice.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all
    I have read a few posts and reviews on these machines, but was wondering if anyone can provide a little more advice.
    Im new to coffee and want to make sure this isnt just a fad before spending a lot more on good gear.
    I have the Sunbeam EM0450, and want to spend about $150 on a machine. My thinking atm is to go 2nd hand, cause I figure Ill get more bang for my buck (feel free to tell me Im wrong).

I have seen the following machines for around that price on ebay, and to a lesser extent here (at varying ages):
    - Breville 800ES
    - Breville Ikon BES400
    - Gaggia Classic
    - Sunbeam EM4800

If I wanted new/refurb, I have seen the following:
    - Breville ESP8
    - Sunbeam EM3600/3800

If you have advice on those machines, or suggestions on others, I would be appreciative!

Thanks

Re: 2nd hand coffee machine advice.

As long as you keep in mid that the $150 is to see if its a fad or not, 2nd hand machines are good.
    The gaggia classic has a solid build, and uses many std parts used by other manufacturers.
    But if you can pick-up a sunbeam 6910 you can steam and make coffee, or a 6900 will still steam and make coffee. As always condition will play a big part.
    Factor in a descale (DIY), and group gasket if it is old.

The biggest downside to entry level machines Ive found are aluminium parts, the gaggia will have the least amount of these on your list (at least I think so, I could be wrong).

If you make 100 coffees, its paid for itself.

Caffeine Junky

First I think itís important to understand the similarities/differences between these machines.

The following are similar in that they all have a single thermoblock and unpressurised baskets:

- Sunbeam EM4800
    - Breville ESP8
    - Sunbeam EM3600/3800
    - Breville 800ES

The other two have boilers:

- Breville Ikon BES400