Thread: Recommendations for an espresso machine for a student.

Recommendations for an espresso machine for a student.

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hello guys,

I know this topic has appeared several times. Ive read through them, but still need some advice.

After spending nearly $8 a day on my long blacks/espressos, Ive decided that I am better off investing in a starter espresso machine. I am basically constrained by the fact that Im a research student, and my budget is under $600, till I start working. :)

I would really love the Ascasco Dream Up machine, but its way off my budget. I was initially considering the Gaggia Espresso Pure, but was a little put off by its plastic look. I am currently considering the New Gaggia Baby ABS Coffee Machine (http://www.gaggia.com/macchine-da-caffe.asp?macchine-per-espresso-manuali_8_New-Baby), which Im attracted to because it comes with the Solenoid Valve. The New Gaggia Baby Class coffee machine seems really similar too?

Any other machines I should be considering? Googling has come up with a varied number of opinions, which has only made me more confused.

For those who has the Gaggia new baby, any complaints?

Additionally, where can I purchase coffee machines in Canberra? I know the departmental stores sell Sunbeams etc. But, I havent actually seen Gaggias anywhere, except on this: http://www.coffeeitalia.com.au/proddetail.php?prod=ff-gaggia .

Many thanks :)

Re: Recommendations for an espresso machine for a student.

If you are on a tight budget, buy a second hand machine that is built to last like a Gaggia classic or a Rancilio Silvia. And put in a PID. You might even have enough change to get a big ugly but very effective ex-commercial grinder like a Gino Rossi.

But Im just recommending exactly what I bought faced with a tight budget.

If you do want to buy new, Cosmorex has the classic but if you buy it new you wont have money left for a grinder.