Thread: Breville 800ES naked/better portafilter options?

Breville 800ES naked/better portafilter options?

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hey there.. Im a newbie to the board..!

Ive got a bit of a question regarding about portafilters.

Ive got the Breville 800ES machine, and the Sunbeam EM0480 grinder. Ive done the mod to the grinder with the shims, and Im using the single floor filter basket. But whenever I take the filter out, I look at the plastic thing inside the and I cant help thinking that this cant be ideal..

Has anyone had any experience with modding these? Like, pulling the plastic bit out, or going the whole hog and converting them to naked? Or is there a better quality option out there?

Or does anyone know anyone selling pre modded naked units?

Thanks!

Re: Breville 800ES naked/better portafilter options?

the black plastic (if its the same as mine) just directs the coffee to the spouts - no big deal since it doesnt add pressure to the extraction, it just stops the pressurised pinhole from drilling a hole in your cup!

It does trap a bit of old coffee oils, not much though if you rinse it regularly.

I have a bottemless pf from a cheaper Breville but it doesnt fit as well.

If you drill out yours (not too hard) you wont be able to go back to the pressurised basket if you ever want to (resale, other users?)

You could post a "wanted" in the for sale section and see what turns up.

HTH!

Oh my God, I just removed the black plastic for the first time ever and found four or five years of old coffee muck sitting underneath it. Grossss. Thats just not right.

Im not particularly worried about resale value.. Ive had it for so long, its well and truly made its worth back..!

Think I might see if I can find a Breville spare parts dealer and get another handle to drill out first.. Ive got the limited edition red 800ES.. And itd be a shame to wreck the matching handle first go.. (ha..!).