Thread: Sunbram EM5600, having a hard time getting any resemblence of microfoam!

Sunbram EM5600, having a hard time getting any resemblence of microfoam!

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all, I am a happy owner of the Sunbeam EM5600 machine and while I like the coffee it produces, I am having extreme trouble with the steam wand!

I am a complete newbie to steaming so I will try to walk you through how I do it;

First I start with some cold milk (green top, Im in New Zealand, if that helps at all) and a cold pitcher (generic one from the Sunbeam package) and purge the steam wand for about 30 - 45 seconds if Im just starting it up so it gets a nice consistent steam going.

Then I throw my milk under it with it sitting over so slightly under the milk so it produces bubbles, the bubbles range anywhere from medium to large. Then when I decide I have enough foam, I drop it a bit lower to try and get a whirlpool going. This is where it fails for me, try as I might I just cant get the whirlpool to bring in any of the foam on the top and incorporate it into the milk!

Am I doing it right?
    Ive tried just sitting it under the milk and making a whirlpool (as the Sunbeam video instructed) and that just produced hot milk.

At the moment the only thing its good for is making fluffies for my nephews, because thats the only thing I can get it to do!

Im convinced its me, not the machine, thats at fault here. I just cant seem to get the foam and milk to combine to make a nice silky texture throughout, its usually just foam and if its looking close to microfoam, its only capped on top of the milk, not throughout :(

If anyone has any suggestions, Im all ears!

Thanks !

Re: Sunbram EM5600, having a hard time getting any resemblence of microfoam!

A few suggestions, dont know how helpful theyll be.