Thread: Just bought a used Saeco Via Venezia

Just bought a used Saeco Via Venezia

Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Im not sure if Ive made the right decision but I jumped onto evilbay a couple of days ago and bought myself a used Saeco VV.
    Now Im praying that when I pick it up and bring it home it is still in a reasonable condition.

Can anyone give me some tips on prepping this machine and checking for any obvious faults?
    The only tips I have come across so far are just the usual give it a good clean and descale. Is that all I need to do?

BTW, I recently bought a Breville BCG800 grinder and have read up on unpressurising the PF

Last question - where can I purchase a reasonably priced tamper?

Appreciate all the help I can get* :)

Re: Just bought a used Saeco Via Venezia

I must he the 1000th newbie to ask the same questions over and over. Forgive me as Im a total newbie to espresso machines.

What Ive done so far:
    - Given the machine a good scrub and descaled with a solution made from 1 litre of water and half a cup of CLR
    - Unpressurised the portafilter
    - Flushed fresh water through the steam wand and brew head to rinse off descaling solution
    - Removed outer sleeve of steam wand leaving just the inner plastic sleeve with needle point hole
    - Opened up the machine cover and removed/washed the tube that the pump uses to draws water from the reservior
    - Tried to remove the other tube (which looks like is used to flow back from the pumped into the reservior) but had to stop because it felt like it might snap off. There was a bit of residue in this tube that I was unable to clean
    - To prevent channeling I gave the screw in the brew head a half turn to loosen it up

This is what Ive tried to produced using the machine:
    - went through a few cups of milk with the frother but only managed to warm the milk with a thin layer of bubbles on top
    - Made 6-8 bad double shots of espresso